Apple TV Remote App Gains Support for New Screen Sizes, Password AutoFill

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Sep 17, 2018.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple today updated its Apple TV Remote app for iOS devices to introduce several new features for the 2018 iPhone lineup and the iOS 12 update, which was released this morning.

    The app now supports new screen sizes, making it compatible with the upcoming 6.5-inch iPhone XS Max and the upcoming 6.1-inch iPhone XR. The iPhone XS Max will be available starting this Friday, while the iPhone XR is coming in October.

    [​IMG]

    Today's Apple TV Remote update also brings support for AutoFill Passwords, a feature that is designed to let you fill saved passwords securely from an iOS device to the Apple TV, alleviating the need to type in a full username and password.

    Apple TV Remote is also automatically being added to Control Center as a default option, providing quick access to controls for the fourth and fifth-generation Apple TV. Apple TV Remote access has been available in Control Center since iOS 11, but until now, it was not one of the default Control Center icons.

    Apple TV Remote can be downloaded from the App Store for free. [Direct Link]

    Article Link: Apple TV Remote App Gains Support for New Screen Sizes, Password AutoFill
     
  2. djbuddha macrumors 6502

    djbuddha

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #2
    Wow. Thank you Apple... but, why did this take so long?
     
  3. KPandian1, Sep 17, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2018

    KPandian1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #3
    Apple's support machine for its non-iPhone products is best and kindly described as "Lethargic"!

    Top of the line chip in the ATV 4K and shameful OS to run it.

    Hope they stop depending on Intel, and put the all the effort that they put into the iPhone hardware system into the Mac lineup. At the least, they can stop blaming others for their negligence.
     
  4. rolsskk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #5
    It's there, just use the volume buttons on your phone.
     
  5. techfreak23 macrumors member

    techfreak23

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    #6
    I’m confused. Is the button automatically added to Control Center AFTER downloading the app or is the app now coming pre-installed on devices...?
     
  6. DeepIn2U macrumors 603

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Nope. Doesn’t work from iPhone 8/256GB on iOS 11. I tried before and after TVOS update (11, now 12). My ATV4 is connected directly to my TV using HDMI. Only the TV remote or the ATV4 remote will control volume.

    Settings, Remotes & Devices:
    Volume Control is ser to “Auto” yet displays “Auto via IR (TV)”. Only TV via IR, Off, or Learn New Device are my options.

    Maybe you think it’s my HDMI Cable?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. sinsin07 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #8
    Question. Is your ATV4 remote using the IR sesnsor to control sound?
     
  8. djbuddha macrumors 6502

    djbuddha

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #9
    Was about to ask the same question.
     
  9. DeepIn2U macrumors 603

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #10
    Other than what I posted how would I find that out? As best I know it’s set to auto. Either way that’s the remote itself curious why the ios remote ATv app would try to use an IR setting when the iPhone has never had an IR emitter
     
  10. D.T., Sep 17, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2018
  11. sinsin07, Sep 17, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2018

    sinsin07 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #12
    For my setup I had my ATV4 learn the control for my A/V remote. It can’t turn it on but it can control the volume. I have and older A/V setup, no Bluetooth or Wifi.

    Did you have to do the same?

    What I’m getting at is in order for the iPhone to communicate with your setup, there has to be some method for it to talk to your TV, A/V etc..

    I’m not an A/V expert so perhaps someone else who has a working volume control and more knowledge can jump in.

    If you could take a pic of your Settings - Remotes and Devices - Volume Control screen it may shed some light.

    Edit: I found this on Apple site:

    Looking for the app's onscreen keyboard or volume controls?

    • A keyboard appears in the Apple TV Remote app when you select a text field on your Apple TV.
    • Want to change the volume using your iOS device? Receivers with HDMI-CEC volume support let you adjust volume with the volume buttons on the side of your iOS device. You just need to plug your Apple TV directly into your receiver and not into your television. Get help with HDMI-CEC.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 17, 2018 ---
    After playing around with two different setups and reviewing your original comment, it appears your TV is setup to “Auto via IR (TV)”.

    If that is the case it appears you are not using HDMI-CEC which is what is required according to what I posted earlier.
     
  12. Braderunner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Tralfamadore
    #13
    Your AppleTV remote uses IR to control your tv or receiver. The iPhone doesn't have an IR transmitter. It cannot control the volume on your tv or a/v receiver.
     
  13. winstars macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    #14
    My volume buttons on my iPhone 6 just change the ringer volume when I am using the iOS remote app with my ATV4...
     
  14. sinsin07, Sep 18, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2018

    sinsin07 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #15
    Your comment contradicts Apple’s help site.
    • Want to change the volume using your iOS device? Receivers with HDMI-CEC volume support let you adjust volume with the volume buttons on the side of your iOS device. You just need to plug your Apple TV directly into your receiver and not into your television. Get help with HDMI-CEC.
    Are you saying the above is incorrect?

    Control your TV or receiver with your Siri Remote or Apple TV Remote
    Use the Apple TV Remote app
     
  15. DeepIn2U macrumors 603

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #16
    I don’t have a receiver of any kind.

    TV plugged into wall, HDMI input direct from ATV4. ATV4 has WiFi connection to Cable Módem/Router.

    TV has its own remote to control volume. ATV remote can control volume. Yet the iOS Remote app on iPhone doesn’t control the TV or shows volume being sent by the ATV. ATV settings for Audio is Auto and no I’m not using SPDIF either.
     
  16. Braderunner, Sep 19, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018

    Braderunner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Tralfamadore
    #17
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2018 ---
    tv OR receiver. o_O Doesn’t matter. Either way. I was just saying...
    Anyway...the iPhone doesn’t have an IR transmitter. It can’t control the volume on your tv. The  TV remote has an IR transmitter, so, it can.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2018 ---
    Nope
     
  17. sinsin07 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #18
    FALSE
    Not clear why you insist the remote app on the iphone cannot control volume.
    Yes the iphone does not have an IR Transmitter.
    It can control volume throudh HDMI-CEC as specified earlier.
    It may not help DeepIn2u but your conclusion is incorrect, there is a method.

    If you have any links that show Apple is in error, please post for the benefit of all, otherwise stop posting false information.
     
  18. Braderunner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Tralfamadore
    #19
    I was responding to someone’s post. In their case, they do not have an hdmi-cec tv. They won’t be able to control tv volume with their iPhone. They were asking why they could with the ATV remote, but not with the phone.
    I was responding to ONE person. NOT making a general comment. Simma down na.
    Geeez...o_O
     
  19. DeepIn2U macrumors 603

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #20

    @sinsin07 , the early post as stated above was to my situation and since I have no receiver the ATV is using IR to control myTV volume which sucks I’ve noticed the icon for volume change to sho the TVs on screen display vs the ATV volume display. So bummed out but it works so not too bad.

    Curious if I get two HomePods will videos sourced from ATV apps will route to them? Hmmm
     
  20. Braderunner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Tralfamadore
    #21
     

Share This Page