Apple TV to Mac

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Ortiz7983, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. Ortiz7983 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #1
    The screen is showing I have to connect my 4 gen Apple TV to my MacBook to go through iTunes. Does anyone know what official apple cable I need for that?
     
  2. Ticocg59 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Location:
    Fresno,Ca.
    #2
    The only connection to the Apple 4 is HDMI.(that I am aware of).Can't you access i-tunes from the TV or whatever you use to view ???
     
  3. Ortiz7983 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #3
    It's giving me this picture. [​IMG]

    I believe that top entry on the backside is USB-C
     
  4. Ticocg59 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Location:
    Fresno,Ca.
    #4
    OK I forgot about that,, I would call Applecare and see what they say. I believe thats a USB mini to USB cable..
     
  5. Binarymix macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #5
    It's a USB-C male to USB-A male cable.

    Looks like something messed up and you have to restore by computer.

    You can get the cables on amazon fairly cheap now.

    Or, just take it to the Apple store and replace it/get them to restore it for you.
     
  6. Ortiz7983 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #6
    I went to the Apple Store and they were going to have me wait 4 hours just to update it. **** that. He told me to just buy the cable and return it after updating it. He said it bricked trying to update itself or something along those lines.
     
  7. Binarymix macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #7
    Yeah, Apple sells the cable now, I didn't mention it because it's outrageously priced. Pick up a $10 one on amazon, it'll be good to have in the future since everything is switching to USB-C anyways.
     
  8. AL2TEACH macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
    #8
    unless you lost the cable, it should be in the box.
     
  9. The Mad Hatter macrumors 6502a

    The Mad Hatter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #9
    Actually, a C type USB doesn't come with the ATV4 standard. I believe the Developer version did come with it though.
     
  10. AL2TEACH macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
    #10
    yep, my bad. now will have to look to see what cable came in the box, geeze.
     
  11. Mac... nificent macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #11

    Correct. This is the standard procedure for resetting tvOS. iTunes will walk you through the procedure. Depending on your Internet speed it should take less than an hour.
     

Share This Page