Apple TV to stero using 3.5mm adapter

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Krispyrobot, Nov 17, 2014.

  1. Krispyrobot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    #1
    I have an old stero system that I was hoping to hook up my Apple TV directly to it using the optica audio output, so I bought the "Belkin 6' Digital Toslink Optical Audio Cable with Line-Out Adapter" from Apple.com :apple:http://store.apple.com/us/product/H7048ZM/A/belkin-6-digital-toslink-optical-audio-cable-with-line-out-adapter?fnode=1dcc00db7d7e5b351faa0a9af560b92922a013cb3bbf40d1c485840ad6c04fdaf377f598fc83a3cfdb3099faa5c297f374bf9ed51568fc53335cef4e832eecfcd88a63136c44f925ba7a755bb1c6564a29fc094f392b95662ce82f6916683147(which can be found here).

    I bought this in hoping I could use the 3.5mm attachment and plug that into my stero using a "RCA male to 3.5mm female" cable like this one: http://www.amazon.com/3-5mm-Stereo-Female-Y-Cable-6-Inch/dp/B000I23TTE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416211966&sr=8-1&keywords=3+5mm+audio+cable+to+rca

    So I plugged my optical audio into my Apple TV used the adapter on the other side and then plugged it into the female 3.5mm cord which was plugged in using the RCA (male) cables into the back of my stero receiver.... I got nothin:(...

    Tv is on and playing the music just fine... Everything is working except the stereo.:confused::confused:

    Do I really need to buy a powered converter from optical to stero? Like the one shown here?:mad:

    http://www.gefen.com/kvm/gtv-digaud-2-aaud.jsp?prod_id=5279

    Is there any other problems?
    Is there a setting I need to change within the Apple TV?...


    My receiver is old and has no special settings you just turn the knob to which input you want it to be playing from and it works

    Please help this should of worked, I honestly bought the Apple TV and cords for this one purpose, well and the fact that I didn't have a Apple TV in the living room yet.

    Please let me know if there's anything I did wrong, or something I forgot to do.;)
     
  2. orestes1984 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Yes, you can't go straight from digital to analogue without a DAC in line at some point. That's like trying to listen to FM radio on an AM band only receiver or like trying to watch digital TV on an analogue only set without a set top box. It doesn't work like that.
     
  3. lo100469 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Location:
    Brussels
    #3
    As said above you need a DAC as the cable you have stays on digital...
    before you buy one please consider:
    - if you are only interested in watching movies using your amplifier, why not linking the TV to your amplifier? Most TV's have a RCA line out that you can use directly to your amplifier
    - if you also would like to listen to music (without the TV on) than you could buy an airport express (even an old used one), and use it to stream from your mac/pc/idevice to your amplifier. The Apple TV can also use airplay to stream the sound to the express while you watch a movie on the TV. This is the set up i have, and it works well.
     
  4. aawil macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #4
    I'm using the tv's analog out and sometimes I get a crackling on some content. If I switch to Airplay it goes away. Anyone else experienced this?
     
  5. Krispyrobot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    #5
    Thanks i figured

    Yes that is what i figured, thank you all for your reply, any suggestions on which one to get, how much $$$ is to much?

    I'm using HDMI to the TV however i would like to play without the tv on, and i like the idea of getting an airport however i have the capability all right here in the apple tv:apple:, besides it cost the same amount.

    Thanks again:D.
     

Share This Page