Apple TV Universal Remote

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by randy98mtu, Sep 21, 2017.

  1. randy98mtu macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    What are people using as a universal remote solution? I have a Harmony 650 that seems to be struggling with things since I ditched cable. Now that Apple TV is the main entertainment device in my family room, I'm struggling to make it user friendly for my wife, kids and 3 baby sitters. Being able to access Siri on the remote would be nice, but is not necessary. Most of these people are not very technical, so the simpler the better. Even if it means a little more work on my side to set it up.
     
  2. Madmic23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #2
    What other devices are hooked up to your TV?

    I use a the Logitech Harmony Hub Companion and it works great for turning everything on and switching inputs automatically. You lose the Siri ability, but I usually keep that remote close by just in case you need that or want to play a game.

    If you don't have any other devices hooked up to your TV, the Siri remote can power on / off your TV and control the volume already. It just can't switch inputs for if you have a game console or something else hooked up.
     
  3. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #3
    I only have the Apple TV Connected. So no need to change HDMI. 1 Remote very easy to use. Just touch it and the Apple TV comes on and then turns on the TV. The wife went along with the COLD TURKEY switch when the ATV 4 was release. We would not go back. 8 TV's all setup the same with the exact same UI and Content. For me could not be easier and cheaper when you have a lot of TV's.
     
  4. randy98mtu thread starter macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #4
    In the family room I have an Onkyo receiver, a Wii U and a UHD Bluray Player. Funny you mentioned the hub companion. I ordered one to pick up at Best Buy today. I went for an older model (I think) that doesn't have all the light control buttons on it. This should also solve the problem where the TV doesn't get turned off. My wife hits the off button on the 650 and then sets the remote on the counter. The TV Off command gets sent like 5 seconds late for some reason. I'm hoping this will be the silver bullet.

    In our bedroom I have a Sony TV with a Sony sound bar and the ATV. I can hit menu on the ATV remote and it turns everything on, but the handshakes don't always pan out with the sound bar. So now I hit power on the Sony TV remote and then use the ATV remote from there.

    I have also found that if you go to settings, sleep now, it will turn your TV off. :)
     
  5. furbzv1 macrumors 6502a

    furbzv1

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    #5
    I use a Logitech Harmony Elite with a hub. Apple TV is my main source of entertainment as I have DirectvNow. I did lose Siri but like a previous member said, I usually keep the original close in case i needed. I also have a Sony AVR as well as a PS4 and XBox connected. It works 97% of the time, from time to time it will not go to the right HDMI, but that could also be user-error.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    I use a 650 as well. What are the problems? Maybe they can be programmed around, but it's hard to saying without knowing what the problems are.
     
  7. randy98mtu thread starter macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #7
    The main one is what I mentioned; delay in sending commands causing people to point the remote away and get mad at me that it didn’t work. Lol. I’m hoping this new one fixes that as it is an RF remote with a repeater. Unfortunately I came home with a migraine so I haven’t had a chance to do anything with it.
     
  8. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #8
    Had a harmony one that broke don’t like the newer harmony remotes
    So I just use the Siri remote
     
  9. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 604

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #9
    Universal Remote Control Inc. MX850, a learning remote that can be programmed to run macros (great for setting up for each source). It's been my "one remote to rule them all" for years.

    Insert a macro "setup" button on each source screen and it "magically" sets everything up for each source so the the max non-techie can make anything work. It can readily manage up to 20 sources.
     
  10. randy98mtu thread starter macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #10
    I have a 20year old MX. Too much effort to set up again. Lol

    I think this harmony hub is going to work because it’s basically WiFi with IR repeater near the equipment.
     
  11. triangletechie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Location:
    NC
  12. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #12

Share This Page

11 September 21, 2017