Apple TV with Ad-Hoc Network

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by benhollberg, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. benhollberg macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #1
    Before I pre-ordered my Apple TV I went to the Apple Store and asked them if it would work with an ad-hoc network. After asking a few people the salesman said yes and I was happy and pre-ordered the machine. It came and I am loving it. However sometimes I go to my cabin with my MacBook Pro, where there is no WiFi, and I tried to create a network and connect my Apple TV to it. The Apple TV won't even recognize an ad-hoc network, it won't even show up in the list.

    After that I went home and did some expiraments to make sure the Apple TV was working correctly. It was and connected to my home network fine.

    So does anyone if there is something I need to activate or some weird setting I need to change so that my new Apple TV will work with an ad-hoc network? Or if it will even work at all, maybe that guy didn't know what he was talking about?
     
  2. cwaddell2002 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #2
    Is there any reason you couldn't just connect them directly with an ethernet cable at your cabin? Try turning airport off on your macbook and trying that at home. You may have to set your macbook to share your internet connection... but in theory everything should work ok in this scenario....
     
  3. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #3
    I have actually been doing that for the past little while, it works just as good, if not faster. But the fact is that I have this ugly cable going down from the TV and I can't use the remote app on my iPhone, I have to use the included remote. (At home I put the Apple TV hidden so you can't even see it, which works great over WiFi and looks good.)

    Still though your right it works great, it just is not convenient using that cable.
     
  4. Rootus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Why not just configure the MBP as an access point? Pretty straightfoward to do (google it -- there are tons of instructions online that don't need to be repeated here; or you can just muddle through it in Internet connection sharing, it's an Apple after all, so not very complicated).
     
  5. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #5
    Before I get into that could you just tell me a little about what it actually means to make my MBP as an access point, please.
     
  6. Rootus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Just what it sounds like. The intent is that you have an ethernet connection to your MBP, and you decide to share that connection via WiFi -- so you configure the MBP to act as an AP, then WiFi clients see it just like they would a normal one. You'd just be doing it without the ethernet actually being connected to anything, so you'd just have the WiFi. But it would allow you to have a "real" WiFi network instead of ad-hoc.
     
  7. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #7
    Thanks for the tip. I will give that a try soon.
     
  8. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #8
    I just got confirmation from Apple support that the new Apple TV (2010) will not work with an Ad-Hoc network.

    I plan on trying out the access point set up and see how that works. I just look up how to do it and it seems very easy. Has any had any luck with this so far?
     
  9. Peter Harrison macrumors 6502a

    Peter Harrison

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I'm in the same situation, and it only works for streaming audio and for some reason it will pick up Trailers but no movies or anything. Can't do Youtube. Because trailers are the only online thing it seems to do, it can't check my Apple ID so it won't approve off turning Home Sharing on. :(

    I guess audio streaming works without Home Sharing, but video requires it.
     
  10. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #10
    Are you actually connected to the internet? Because where I want to try this I do not have internet. I have my Home Sharing already turned on but I might reset when I join a new network.
     
  11. Peter Harrison macrumors 6502a

    Peter Harrison

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I want to do it with no internet too. How did you turn on Home Sharing on? On your Apple TV? I can't do it because it keeps saying the Apple ID and password is incorrect which I presume is because it isn't online so can't check them. Did you activate Home Sharing on the Apple TV when you DID have internet, and it is still activated now that you don't have the internet?
     
  12. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #12
    Yes I did it with internet. When I am at my house it works fine with internet. But what I wanted to do was take it my cabin, without internet, and use it there for movies and things. So I tried it and it wouldn't find the Ad-Hoc network. So I did it with an ethernet cable recently, and it works at the cabin, without internet. But I want to use it on a network so I can use the Remote app. Also using that ethernet cable just seems so old school. But yes, Home Sharing was activated before I left so I assume it stays activated after being moved around.
     
  13. Peter Harrison macrumors 6502a

    Peter Harrison

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Thanks, I'm going to take mine home where I can turn Home Sharing on properly and hopefully it will stay on and not ask for my password etc when I get back here. Although Home Sharing is where I'm having trouble, mine IS able to find my ad-hoc network. That's how it streamed my audio and stuff. At first I was choosing Create Network but that wasn't doing anything. Then I did this:

    System Preferences -> Sharing -> Internet Sharing

    For Internet Sharing, set it "From Ethernet" and "To Airport". Yeah, I know you don't have the internet there, but when I did it this way rather than the usual Network way, the Apple TV finally could see the network! Hope that helps.
     
  14. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #14
    Thanks I got that and still have yet to try it and test it. Some previous people were calling that an access point. I am going up to my cabin this weekend and will give it a try.

    You maybe were able to stream audio only because you were doing it with AirPlay and not over Home Sharing. Just a thought though. Thanks.
     
  15. boredandlonely macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    #15
    I am having the SAME issues. ATV2, MBP, no internet (except tethered iPhone 4 on ios 4.1). I CAN connect ATV2 to my Airport Extreme network, but home sharing fails. Every time I set up "internet sharing", it cuts off my tethered internet connection. So IF the ATV2 can see my network, it still can't initialize home sharing via the internet. Setting Internet Sharing "From Ethernet" w/ "To Airport" is the only solution so far that leaves my tethered iPhone internet running on the MBP, and ATV2 can see the network, but apparently still can't access the internet.

    This sounds like it would be as simple as somebody comparing ATV2 files before and after initialization, and then we could patch manually via JB solutions.
     
  16. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #16
    Doesn't the iPhone use Bluetooth to tether? I believe there is a share internet from Bluetooth to Airport in those system preferences.
     
  17. boredandlonely macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    #17
    I tried that as well with the same result. It's as if MacOS 10.6.5 only SAYS it's sharing internet, then actually does... NOTHING.
     
  18. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #18
    As I have yet to try this type of access point internet sharing by Ethernet to Airport. I have done Airport to Ethernet and it worked perfectly. I still need to try this Ethernet to Airport with my Apple TV though.
     
  19. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #19
    Last night I tried out my Apple TV using an Access Point on my MacBook Pro setting it up with Internet Sharing in System Preferences. It worked and worked great. My Mac was about 30 away from the Apple TV, I'm not sure the range on this setup.

    After choosing the network I made on the Apple TV it took about 3 minutes to connect, then it said there is no internet connection and it wanted to look again. I just pressed menu to back out of the screen back to the main screen.

    Because I had Home Sharing already turned on from using it at my house, it was still activated and was able to search through my iTunes library. When it first tried to load my iTunes library it took about 5 minutes. Then when I went to TV Shows and selected what I wanted in HD it started playing instantly. The whole hour and a half show showed that it loaded in about 20 seconds. I was amazed at this, and how fast this was compared to my home network.. At my house using an Airport Express it normally takes about one minute to load this show.

    I tried to connect my iPhone to the network so I could use the remote app, after multiple tries it didn't work. It would connect to the network, then in the app it would show it found my iTunes library and Apple TV, I selected Apple TV and pressed done. It just went to a screen that said attempting to connect and after a while it gave up and said it couldn't. This kinda frustrated me, so I tried my iPad. I did the same with the iPad and it connected almost instantly and worked perfectly normal. If anyone knows why or how to get the iPhone version working let me know and that would be great. Even though I may prefer using the iPad, I still would like to use the iPhone sometimes.

    After all this I was happy that I was able to get this working without using a router. After all it was you all guys that replied that helped me out and I thank you for that. Something else also came out trying this, I figured out how to turn overscan off on my TV, which I have been wanting to do from day one with that thing. Thank you all for replying to this thread.
     
  20. RyanPlugs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #20
    I have a similiar query. Would an iPad be able to send content to an Apple TV without an active internrt connection? This would not require Home Sharing as it is using Airplay, but would they both need to be on the same network. If this is the case, would it be possible with just an Airport Express or would you require a computer to configure all of the settings?
     
  21. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #21
    I assume it would work with an Airport Express, even without an Internet connection. The Apple TV would have to be on the same network as the iPad. As for using airplay without an Airport and just the computer as an access point, I will try it out.
     
  22. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #22
    My apoligize to everyone, I never did try out AirPlay without an Internet connection through an access point on your computer. I ended up buying a Time Capsule on black Friday and just took my Airport Express to the cabin so I don't need to setup all that stuff on my computer.

    Although I can confirm that AirPlay works without an Internet connection when using the Airport Express as the router. It works fine with the Apple TV as well.
     
  23. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #23
    In a similar way, will Airplay systems like the Bowers&Wilkins Air Zeppelin only work with a router in the mix?

    Can I go straight iPad Airplay to the Air Zeppelin or do I always need a router?
    I'm guessing from the results here, I'm always going to need to bring an Airport express with me?
     
  24. Sparky9292 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #24
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Solution:

    Buy $10 router on eBay to take to your cabin. Don't need Internet so leave the WAP jack empty. Have the laptop and AppleTV join the router.

    FTW!
     
  25. benhollberg thread starter macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #25
    Since I started this thread I have been using my Mac to stream to my Apple TV at my cabin, I did this by setting up a access point on my Mac for the WiFi network. Since upgrading to Lion I tried this again. Did exactly the same thing but it says the Internet sharing is on but nothing finds the network. Also the WiFi icon in the top bar just shows bars and not the arrow thing.

    Anyone else seeing this?
     

Share This Page