Apple TV with pre HDMI Plasma TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by JoelHII, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. JoelHII, Mar 21, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011

    JoelHII macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #1
    I have a palsma Tv about 5 years old that has no HDMI ports. I was told that by purchasing a Bose Lifestyle VS-2 unit that I would be able to use my new Apple TV 2. Is this correct?

    Also, when hooking up the Bose unit should I connect it directly to the TV or should I connect it to my NAD T743 receiver?

    Thanks for any comments or help!
     
  2. Panch0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    I think the VS-2 is intended as an accessory to a Bose Lifestyle system. I don't think it is intended for use with any other brand of receiver. I think there are devices out there that will take HDMI in and provide component out, but this doesn't appear to be one of them.
     
  3. Monkey194545 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #3
    $299 is a lot of cash to just use an apple tv. I don't know budget, but unless your plasma is a pioneer elite, I would invest in a new set. With the prices of plasmas these days you can use the 300 (bose) and 99 (atv2) towards a new set that comes with internet apps. My 2010 $500 40in samsung lcd has great apps, my 09 $1600 46in samsung not so much. The 2011 internet apps are even better. You can get a decent 50in plasma for under a grand. Just my thoughts.
     
  4. Rich Gibson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Location:
    Annandale, VA
    #4
    Bose is way overpriced. You can get a number of format converters from monoprice.com which will give you HDMI output. I recently bought a Component (RGB) to HDMI converter there for $38. You can even conver S-Video and composite to HDMI from them.

    Good luck, Rich
     
  5. Billy Boo Bob macrumors 6502

    Billy Boo Bob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Dark Side Of The Moon
    #5
    They said they need something for a TV that does NOT have HDMI inputs, so one of these is not what's needed. Perhaps they have something to convert the other way. Dunno.
     
  6. Rich Gibson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Location:
    Annandale, VA
    #6
    Sorry, my oversight. Yes they do. I have a Elgato EYETV HD which only has RGB inputs. I have a HDFury2 converter. Amazon sells a number of them.

    http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&ke...x=aps&hvadid=1420946187&ref=pd_sl_bf286qxx8_e

    Rich
     
  7. sandman42 macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
  8. leowyatt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Merseyside
    #9
    Sorry to hijack but could I use a HDMI -> VGA cable on a pre HDMI set?
     
  9. sandman42 macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    Where do you find such a cable? I'm pretty sure HDMI doesn't provide an analog signal so you would have to have an active converter of some kind, not just an adapter cable.
     
  10. stompy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #11
    Skip the bose. You likely have component inputs, here's the monoprice part for hdmi to component (not currently in stock). If not monoprice, go to Amazon, or buy.com or many others.
     
  11. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    If your television doesn't have an optical input you're also going to need something to convert the audio.

    I had to buy a Digital Coax & Optical Toslink to R/L Stereo Audio Converter since I'm using my Apple TV with a computer display* which has an HDMI input but no speakers.

    * A widescreen 23" LCD computer display is around 130$CAD while a 23" widescreen LCD TV is around 250$CAD... :rolleyes:

    My setup is still untested, however, because I forgot to order a TOSlink cable at the same time.
     
  12. Mac_Max macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #13
  13. sandman42 macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    Ok, but that does appear to be a converter, not a simple (passive) adaptor cable, which was what I was trying to point out in my previous post.

    You may be right about the passive DVI-HDMI cable, but only if the TV supports DVI-D; if the TV needs the analog signal present in DVI-A or DVI-I it won't work, because there's no analog signal coming out of the HDMI port. You may know that DVI is capable of carrying a VGA-equivalent analog signal, an HDMI-equivalent digital signal, or both, but can only transmit what's present in the source, and HDMI is digital only.

    I also think you're right about HDCP. I think the :apple:TV may reject the connection if the display (or adapter, etc) doesn't report itself as HDCP compliant.
     

Share This Page