Apple tv2 problem downloading new update!!!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mjhulik, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. mjhulik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    I'm having trouble downloading the latest update to my apple tv2. I go to update software and hit download and update and after a minute or so it comes up "the apple tv update could not be downloaded at this time. Try again later. Any help would be great I've unplugged the unit and still the same outcome. It won't even let me restore it. Thanks everyone with any suggections!
     
  2. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    There is another thread with fix details but I can't be bothered to find it so I will tell you...

    Apparently changing the DNS setting on your router to OpenDNS or Googles (8.8.8.8) will fix it
     
  3. mjhulik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #3
    I mn't see any setting on my router when I log in like that.
     
  4. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    What router do you have? Are you on a Mac?
     
  5. mjhulik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
  6. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Network settings...

    [​IMG]

    Think you need to go advanced and find the following...

    [​IMG]

    ----------

    Hope thats right and works for you :)
     
  7. mjhulik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #7
    Thanks alot that seemed to take care of the issue. Much appreciation !!!
     
  8. Billy Boo Bob macrumors 6502

    Billy Boo Bob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Dark Side Of The Moon
    #8
    I don't think that's it... That will change what DNS your computer is using, and won't affect the ATV. You'll need to make that change on the router software (Same as Airport Utility for Airport routers).
     
  9. Bill.the.Cat, Mar 9, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012

    Bill.the.Cat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #9
    Changing the DNS (via router) doesn't work for me. I've tried updating via the ATV2 UI and via restore-and-update with the ATV connected to iTunes. Been trying for the last two days with no success.

    Edit: Still no success with the Google DNS but I tried one of the OpenDNS servers (208.67.222.222) and finally got it to connect via iTunes restore+update. Will leave the router settings intact and see if I can update the other ATV2 in the house via the ATV UI.

    Edit 2: After changing to OpenDNS server for my router's DNS the second ATV2 in the house updated just fine directly from the UI. A shame it has to be this problematic, Apple products usually "just work."
     
  10. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    :confused: Don't know, dude. Seems to work.
     
  11. sirvent macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #11
    Fix if you are not using a Mac

    Looks like that works, did the same using windows xp in a computer connected to the network..

    Control Panel > Network Connections > Properties > Then in the General tab I looked for "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)" and Properties > Then Advanced in the "Use the following DNS Server Adress" section > Add > Entered 8 . 8 . 8 .8
    Then I tried to update and looks like its working!!

    Thanks!
     
  12. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Bizarrely. Even though my advice did work for others it actually didn't work for me and I had to change the DNS settings on the ATV as Billy Boo Bob advised.

    Weird!
     
  13. Ljsdeluxe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    #13
    Apple TV update

    one TV update worked perfectly, one didn't work and couldn't get to anyplace to try again - just kept showing hook to iTunes. ...
    SOLUTION: Hook up to iTunes WITHOUT electric cord plugged in (you'll need a micro-b USB cord - comes with some cameras) and the update worked perfectly in under two minutes.
    :)
     

Share This Page