Apple Updates Aperture to 1.5.6 for Leopard

MacRumors

macrumors bot
Original poster
Apr 12, 2001
47,517
9,355



Apple release an update to Aperture today, which brings Aperture to verison 1.5.6.Aperture 1.5.6 addresses issues related to performance, improves overall stability, and supports compatibility with Mac OS X v10.5. This update is recommended for all Aperture users.
The update provides compatibility for Mac OS X Leopard which is launching today.

Yesterday, Apple also release updates to iDVD 6 and iLife '08

Article Link: Apple Updates Aperture to 1.5.6 for Leopard
 

Peel

macrumors 6502a
Aug 30, 2004
573
85
Seattle
Downloading now. Just finished installing Leopard. Looks like this will be a day of updating.
 

fattito

macrumors newbie
Oct 19, 2007
5
0
Leopard Software Update asks for password HALF WAY THROUGH

I installed the 9A581 build floating around the net on bittorrent. (I'm going to go buy it at 6, don't worry). This morning the Aperture and Pro Application Support updates showed up in Software Update. I installed both of them. The download started, and after they completed Software Update THEN asked for my administrator password for the install. This is a TERRIBLE change. I like to be able to hit install and walk away, not having to be there half way through the process to type my password. I think we should try to get Apple to change this back! What do you think?
 

Reach

macrumors 6502a
Sep 7, 2006
577
0
Norway
Agreed, ask for password before the download starts, so it can run it's course without being managed.
 

kbleicher

macrumors newbie
Jun 4, 2007
28
0
Okay, so I downloaded the update after providing my Aperture 1.5 serial number on Apple's site, and as the install starts it tells me that I have to have at least Aperture Version 1.0 or later to install. what?
 

Kace

macrumors regular
Sep 8, 2005
113
0
Sydney
Well, just as I was getting frustrated trying to open up aperture i see this.
Downloading now, currently Aperture crashes as soon as it opens up in Leopard.
No such issues with FCS though.

So far so good with 10.5.0, much much smoother than 10.4.0
 

kbleicher

macrumors newbie
Jun 4, 2007
28
0
Just use software update.
Software update doesn't list the Aperture upgrade. I'm a legal, registered user....

Thus I went to Apple's site to download it. I had to enter the info to download the update; the installer fails immediately per above.
 

bretm

macrumors 68000
Apr 12, 2002
1,951
27
Software update doesn't list the Aperture upgrade. I'm a legal, registered user....

Thus I went to Apple's site to download it. I had to enter the info to download the update; the installer fails immediately per above.
Both are evidence that you don't have Aperture installed on your computer. If you do, it doesn't think you do. Run the 1.0 or 1.5 installer from original discs, then run the update.
 

Peel

macrumors 6502a
Aug 30, 2004
573
85
Seattle
Software update doesn't list the Aperture upgrade. I'm a legal, registered user....

Thus I went to Apple's site to download it. I had to enter the info to download the update; the installer fails immediately per above.
Make sure you didn't change the name of, or move aperture from it's original location. Software Update is very particular about the name and location of applications.
 

kbleicher

macrumors newbie
Jun 4, 2007
28
0
Make sure you didn't change the name of, or move aperture from it's original location. Software Update is very particular about the name and location of applications.
Nope.. didn't do that.. Just sitting right at the top of my applications folder with the original name....

Update: Fixed it. I had installed the trial version of Aperture and just entered the serial number weeks later after the purchase. I re-installed from the CD and now it worked. I was under the impression the trial was the same as the purchased app. Guess it's different in some ways.
 

Kace

macrumors regular
Sep 8, 2005
113
0
Sydney
Wasn't planning on updating to 10.5 right away, but early reportss seem to indicate that Aperture runs better under 10.5...

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1195875&tstart=0
Agreed. Much Quicker and snappier. Both on the MP and MBP.

Oh and I'm not a 100% but i think software update in general asks for admin password after downloading the update (well this happened for Aperture).

And I don't know if this is the case for everyone else but MBP runs a LOT cooler whilst using Aperture. The metal strip above the function keys is barely warm.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.