Apple Upgrade Program - Unlocked, but Restricted?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dwalls90, Sep 9, 2016.

  1. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #1
    Why does it say the phone is unlocked, yet requires you to tie your device to an account before ordering? As an example, I don't have a separate AT&T account, as my phone is tied to a corporate account. Obviously my company is not going to release the billing information for the corporate account, thus I cannot order a phone through the AUP.

    Seems flawed in advertising, in that you can't just order the phone and make payments, without being tied to a carrier before ordering. Am I missing something?

    Are in-store options different, in that I could 'buy' the phone under the AUP, without providing wireless account details, and bring my own, functioning, AT&T sim?
     
  2. SunnyFL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #2
    My question is if I do the iphone forever through Apple and select Sprint does the phone have to be activated to the number you give them?
    My iphone on Sprint is on a corporate plan and I get the "We're sorry. Your existing rate plan isn't an eligible iPhone plan. You can contact your carrier to keep your current phone number. You can also create a new account at an Apple Store" message but me wife, hers is personal and it will go through. If I order a new phone with the iphone forever option and use her number and pin to get it will I be able to activate it on my number?
     
  3. Dwalls90 thread starter macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #3
    I think Sprint, uses Sim cards, right? So you can hot swap them out. That's how it works on AT&T, at least.
     
  4. bluedukies8 macrumors 6502

    bluedukies8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #4
    I'm hoping that I don't need a specific account for the network I picked.

    I have AT&T currently. Reserved the Verizon 256GB black. Hoping I can just put my AT&T sim in it and walk out.

    Only thing I am thinking is that it will need to "activate" with the Verizon sim in the phone then I can switch it. In which case I am screwed.

    The 6s Plus I have is unlocked like the 7 I am getting so I was hoping there wouldn't be any issues since the Verizon version has all the network bands.
     
  5. SunnyFL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #5
    When I went from the 4s to the 6 a few years ago I ordered the phone on sprint.com and they shipped it, all I had to do was go online and activate it replacing the 4s (there was no sim swap).
     

Share This Page