Apple Watch Auto Unlock Questions [MERGED]

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by jsawy3r, Jul 5, 2016.

  1. jsawy3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #1
    Can anybody confirm if Auto Unlock does or does not work on the Mid 2012 rMBP? I've seen that it doesn't work on a Late 2012 Mac mini, but the rMBP was a bit ahead of its time in connectivity and I imagine Apple isn't dotting the i and crossing the t on the beta docs.

    Figure if there is one exception to the 2013 limitation it would be this. Holding out hope!
     
  2. Loismustdie1 macrumors member

    Loismustdie1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #2
    It has to be a 2013 computer. However Apple wasn't too specific on exactly where that cutoff is. My mid 2013 13 inch Retina works with the auto unlock. My early 2013 15 inch does not.

    Edited for spelling
     
  3. DribbleCastle macrumors regular

    DribbleCastle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    Can you clarify how auto unlock works please? I know it works when you open the lid of your laptop or wake your Mac from sleep; however if you lock your screen with a password when the screen saver starts, will a move of your mouse summon an Apple Watch unlock method? If not, the feature loses a lot of impact for my day to day use.

    For clarification, this is the feature I'm talking about.

    lock on screen saver.png
     
  4. Hyuga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Helsinki or Barcelona
    #4
    It seems to be working with laptops what have modern Energy Saver settings. If you have separated Computer sleep and Display sleep sliders it won't work.. So all Macs from Mid 2013 ->

    I tried it with multiple Macs on our development stack.
     
  5. Loismustdie1 macrumors member

    Loismustdie1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #5
    I suspected as much. I hope the they reverse this and expand. This is not a valid excuse to withhold a feature that would work on capable and perfectly functioning hardware.
     
  6. bluechair1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #6
    Yesterday I attempted to get auto unlock to work with my 2012 rMBP, I was unable to get it to work. Today I installed an updated airport card from a 2013 and it worked. So that is an option for anyone wanting this feature. This was also confirmed by a guy in another thread.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 7, 2016 ---
    I would guess that is more of a coincidence than anything...
     
  7. Hyuga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Helsinki or Barcelona
    #7
    Was it Mid 2013 later? Those had AC card.
     
  8. mastercheif91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #8
    This would make a lot of sense. In the post WWDC podcast interview with Gruber, Craig explained how auto unlock uses WiFi in addition to bluetooth 4.0 to communicate with the Mac

     
  9. bluechair1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #9
    Yes
     
  10. jozeppy26 macrumors 6502

    jozeppy26

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #10
    Same Mac here. Super annoying and stupid. I'm hoping support expands before the final release or a hack/work-around is discovered.
     
  11. ianrip macrumors 6502

    ianrip

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    work:Oyu Tolgio, Home:LOS, From Scotland G15
    #11
    I have a Mac mini late 2012, and I used an app called MacID it work okay, it wasn't perfect but it's a killer function.if the 3rd party app worked I hope my Mini is compatible.
     
  12. jozeppy26 macrumors 6502

    jozeppy26

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #12
    Apparently some people with older Macs that use the third party "Continuity Activation Tool" have the Apple Watch auto unlock option (CAT seems to activate it). This doesn't help us however bc our 2012 rMBP already has continuity features so even if you try to install CAT, it just gives an error and doesn't do anything. Sucks
     
  13. bluechair1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #13
  14. Seagyi macrumors newbie

    Seagyi

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    #14
    --- Post Merged, Jul 8, 2016 ---
    I have the same MacBook and gonna try buying the newer card
     
  15. Loismustdie1 macrumors member

    Loismustdie1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #15
  16. bluechair1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #16
    Im pretty sure you wouldn't need the card... sounds like something else is wrong... what card did you buy?
     
  17. Loismustdie1 macrumors member

    Loismustdie1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #17
    I replaced the card with a late 2015 card (they're basically the same). Everything works fine and macOS recognizes it as a wireless ac card, but I still never get the auto unlock feature.
     
  18. Seagyi macrumors newbie

    Seagyi

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    #18
    i think you might have to reinstall sierra so it recognizes the hardware properly and enables it for you
     
  19. Loismustdie1 macrumors member

    Loismustdie1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #19
    I thought the same. I erased and installed from a bootable USB:clean install. Still no dice. Oh well. That's beta testing for ya
     
  20. bluechair1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #20
    That's not necessary either. It picked up the new card on mine as soon as I booted back into macOS...
     
  21. Loismustdie1 macrumors member

    Loismustdie1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #21
    Interesting. When I looked into the system profile, it correctly identifies it as a wireless ac card. No problems with Bluetooth or Wifi either. Weird.
     
  22. TeToslaw macrumors regular

    TeToslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #22
    What about MacBook pro retina late 2012? It has bluetooth 4.0 but the option hasn't appeared so far. Does it really need wifi ac card?
     
  23. Loismustdie1 macrumors member

    Loismustdie1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    #23
    So far it appears to be that way. I have an early 2013 and I don't even have the option. I even changed my wifi card to a wireless ac and it still didn't work.
     
  24. bluechair1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #24
    Yes, it appears that you need the ac card. Sounds like they are doing some kind of distance calculation with wifi instead of bluetooth.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 11, 2016 ---
    I'm thinking this is just a beta bug. It should be showing up for you.
     
  25. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #25
    Even on "supported" hardware it doesn't work reliably. I think it's way too early to be considering hardware changes in order to try to make it work.
    Who knows what the next beta will bring? Maybe what's not supported now will be supported in the next beta.
     

Share This Page