Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AppleFan.

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 6, 2024
Hello everyone,

I have been using my SS Series 9 for 3 months now and have been very happy with it. But I am already noticing some scratches on the case. I think I am even seeing a scratch on the display. I don't remember doing anything that could cause these scratches. I am very careful with my watch. I never drop it, hit it against something, or sleep while wearing it. The only thing that could be the cause is putting on and removing the Milanese Loop. I have been noticing the scratches after I got the Milanese Loop.

When I bought the watch at the Apple Store, they told me the SS version is much more resistant to scratches, and I have also read that online.

Is this normal? And will Apple replace it for free? I don't have AppleCare+.

Hope someone can help me

Bichon

macrumors regular
Oct 17, 2019
The Milanese loop band is notorious for damaging watches; I've read dozens of accounts of it here, and it's the primary reason I haven't bought one.

If you had the regular stainless steel watch, people have had good success using a Cape Cod cloth to buff out scratches, but I don't think that's an option with the graphite finish.

And no, Apple will not replace your watch for cosmetic damage.

Reactions: AppleFan.

AppleFan.

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 6, 2024
Your Milanese Loop is probably the primary culprit. It has a well known history of scratching the case and screen of the watch.

Apple won't replace cosmetic damage.
I don't know how it could scratch the screen, because the Milanese loop doesn't touch my screen. But isn't this Apple's fault? Why would they sell a band that damages the watch? And in the Apple Store they told me it is very scratch resistant, especially the display.

AppleFan.

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 6, 2024