Apple Watch vs My Basis Peak

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by rhuarc3, Oct 24, 2014.

1. rhuarc3 macrumors member

rhuarc3

i was excited to hear about the apple watch but i'm kinda disappointed in it. majority of the features are on my phone already i don't need another device for them. i was hoping to use it mostly as a watch and fitness tracker, but its not waterproof. and as a firefighter i'm around water a lot.

looking into the my basis peak. http://www.mybasis.com its cheaper and waterproof.

what are your thoughts?

2. SHNXX macrumors 68000

honestly i think apple watch and android wear will probably crush all these small competitors unless small competitors come up with unbelievable feature that can't easily be implemented by apple/google.

in my opinion, this basis watch seems like an inferior version of the apple watch by the way it looks.

3. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

Maybe good to get for sleep (as you can't wear the :apple:Watch for sleeping as it needs to charge) and exercise purposes.

4. Julien macrumors G3

Julien

We still don't know how water resistant/proof the aWatch will be. Apple may not have fully determined how water resistant/proof the production aWatch will be at the time of the event. Hopefully it will be IPx7. If it at least IPx6K you would be covered for your job, just no swimming.:D

[​IMG]

5. Cashmonee macrumors 6502a

Cashmonee

In what way is the Basis inferior to the Apple Watch for the OPs stated needs? To me, for fitness tracking it seems the Basis is even with or beats the Apple Watch in every category for significantly less money. Of course, if you are looking to send your heartbeat to your boo, then you have to go Apple Watch.

6. rhuarc3 thread starter macrumors member

rhuarc3