Apple, you have frayed my nerves once too many

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by wrldwzrd89, Oct 25, 2010.

1. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

I am very much not happy about Apple's Oct 20 announcements, except for the MacBook Air announcement :p Anyway, since I'm a Java developer, I feel doubly hurt by both Apple ceasing their own Java implementation and the Mac App Store not allowing Java apps. I'm also going to just skip Lion, as well as iLife '11... I'm currently debating with myself whether or not to leave the Mac OS behind and use Ubuntu Linux full-time. I cannot abandon the Mac right now, though, because of some things I cannot migrate (mumble grumble Parallels Desktop VM incompatibilities). Now, with that off my chest... anyone else in my situation? Feel similar?

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

I'm not a Java developer so that doesn't affect me but yeah, Lion and iLife '11 look fairly boring to me. Lion had some little new things but nothing revolutionary. At least yet.

If 10.6 is fine for you, why would you abandon OS X? iLife is optional and we don't know all about Lion either, just tiny bits of it. Maybe Apple is getting too consumerish so advanced users like you will be better off with Linux

3. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

I'm not going to abandon OS X completely. I have to use it for creating Mac versions of my cross-platform applications, regardless of what language I'm writing them in. All I'd do is relegate Mac OS X to my secondary OS (and Windows tertiary) - which, to some extent, I've already done.

I do think Apple is catering too much to the typical computer consumer, and not enough to advanced users like me. 'Tis a shame.

4. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

chrmjenkins

That's how they're increasing market share and sales.