iPhone AppleCare and jailbreaks.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lyceumHQ, Nov 19, 2014.

  1. lyceumHQ macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    Want to add AppleCare to my IP6. Didn't have the cash to add it when I bought it. But do now.

    I know if I call up and add it they run remote diagnostics which I assume detect the jailbreak.

    But does anyone know the procedure if I go to a store and buy it?

    Having my phone jailbroken is more important to me than AppleCare+ so I'm not willing to lose my jailbreak for it.

    If I remove all tweaks and hide cydia should I be okay in the store? Or do they also run diagnostics there too?

    If so I'll just grab the old AppleCare from eBay to extent the warranty for a year and save myself the extra £60 the + version costs.
     
  2. la79 macrumors regular

    la79

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #2
    You don't even need to go into the store to purchase Applecare+ for your iPhone. I did via chat window under Apple Support. Your phone has apple support for 90 days. Go to Apple.com/support and chat with an advisor online. They will provide you the necessary steps to purchase it while you talk to them.

    I did it with two phones my GFs and my own. My own is jailbroken on ios 8.1.
     
  3. lyceumHQ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #3
    Thanks.

    This is from apples website

    At an Apple Retail Store (inspection of iPhone and proof of purchase are required)
    OR call 0844 209 0611 or 0800 107 6285 (requires you to run a remote diagnostic and provide proof of purchase)

    So I assumed doing it remotely would need the remote diagnostic to be run?
     
  4. la79 macrumors regular

    la79

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #4
    They send you a link to your email address to verify that it is you. There was no remote diagnostic done.

    Then once you confirm with the link they send you another email for payment.

    Easy as pie.
     
  5. lyceumHQ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #5
    Thanks.

    Just tried chat and they wanted to pass me to tech support to run a 'remote diagnostic' to gather 'general data'.
     
  6. la79 macrumors regular

    la79

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #6
    Yry another chat specialist. They just sent me a link to verify my phone.
     
  7. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #7
    I just added ac plus to my 6. It was jb on 8.1 before I called. He sent me a text message with a link. It took me to a diagnostic page. You press quick test. A ticket number gets generated. That's it. Did it over the phone no problem.
     
  8. lyceumHQ thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

Share This Page