Applecare for macbook ater a couple years

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by moogle301, Nov 30, 2009.

1. moogle301 macrumors member

moogle301

I did a search but I'm terrible at locating threads generally. I'm getting a macbook so I've been in this section of the forum but I guess this perhaps should be in another section.. I can't figure out which :S

So in the UK you get 36 months free warranty as opposed to the normal year with HI discount. Applecare is £46. I was thinking of not getting applecare since I don't think I'll use phone support and have no idea if I will take my macbook abroad which seems the only things it is good for? I've never taken a laptop abroad before but after Uni (I'm in 3rd year) who knows.
    My question is.. can you get discounted applecare at any point while being a student? And could I get my brother to get it for me after I finish Uni? (He is in third year and won't ever want a mac himself I don't think).

So I could effectively just get the free warranty and then when that is nearly run out pay £46 for 3 years applecare? Getting 6 years for under £50, or does applecare not work like that?
    Sorry if I explained badly.

2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

AppleCare only lasts until the end of the third year from the date of purchase of your computer regardless of when you buy AppleCare. You have until the end of the first year to purchase it after which you cannot.

In your case I would say its pointless.

3. moogle301 thread starter macrumors member

moogle301

Oh thank you :) that's very helpful. I don't think I will buy it then. It does seem odd that you can't buy it after the first year though, you think they'd make more money that way and would be annoying if I decide to go away abroad after all. But I doubt I will.. Plus, I'd have decided if I was going to within a year I think

4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube