AppleCare iMac 27'' 5k, a total disaster!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kawa636r, Nov 17, 2016.

  1. kawa636r macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Location:
    Spain
    #1
    My iMac 27'' 5k has got now 2 years and 2 months.
    I've always keeped it on acting as a server, and of course, the display was set to go in standby after 10 minutes of no use by me.

    Last week i noticed the backlight not going more over 50% and before i was having got also right speaker issue (crackling sound and distortions at higher volume) and bluetooth sometime loosing connection with both keyboard and magic trackpad, so i went to Apple store at 200km's far from my house and left it the iMac, specifying everything under the Applecare warranty.


    After 5 working days i called the Apple Store and they said me that they cannot reproduce the defects.

    I'm really sad and unhappy, i think i will claim it in judicial ways.
    I will never buy an Apple Computer anymore, i have paid 3400€ for a really hard to repair iMac and they are not recognizing even the warranty.
     
  2. kerrikins macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #2
    It's not that they're not recognizing the warranty, it's just that without being able to see the problem they don't have a reason to repair it and also probably can't tell what's causing it.

    Before going off in a huff to sue them you might want to try contacting support over the phone to ask them how you can proceed. Perhaps if you notice the same issue at home you can record it in some manner so that they can see/hear it for themselves.
     
  3. kawa636r thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Location:
    Spain
    #3
    Talking with them just now, but i not agree to do again 200km other two times for having got the trouble fixed.

    Let's see how they will move, because my time it's something that i don't want to waste.
     
  4. roadkill401 macrumors 6502

    roadkill401

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #4
    The bluetooth problem is software. REALLY crappy OS / Drivers. Loads of people have that issue and complain all you want, it will never get fixed.

    The test that I do before taking my mac out to get it repaired is turn it off and unplug for at least 6 hours and then power it back up. Can I reproduce the problem after that. If I can't then I know Apple will not either. If I can find a way to make the error or issue happen, then I will write out the steps and make sure they go with the iMac to the Apple Care store so they can try and reproduce. I have had some things that Apple simply says is not hardware so live with it. Apple does not fix or support their own software (OS)
     
  5. johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #5
    This sounds very unlike apple, write to apple EMEA and complain about the issue, a video with the issue recorded would be concrete evidence, but I am surprised apple have treated you in this way, they were willing to come out to my house when I was having issues with setting my new imac from TC, but I did a fresh install and the painful procedure of reinstalling all the software that i needed.
     
  6. akadafni macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    #6
    Wow! Wanting to sue because the store could not reproduce your issue. That doesn't mean they aren't honoring the warranty, it just means they can't find anything to repair. Try resetting the SMC AND/OR NVRAM. Good Luck with your lawsuit.
     
  7. Gregintosh macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    If you can afford the $5,000 to $10,000 to sue you can afford a new Mac. Much quicker resolution.

    But in all seirousness, take videos of the issue next time. It'll go a long way to fixing it. Also, be sure it still does it after you reinstall the OS fresh to rule out software.

    Good luck!
     
  8. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #8
    In the US, AppleCare does offer in home service. At least that was the case in the past where I was not particularly close to an Apple store or Apple service center. Not sure about outside of the US. Maybe Apple would allow that for you. Reproduce the issue, call Apple and see if they will allow a home service call considering your distance to a service center.
     
  9. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Try a clean install

    I've done about 2-3 since being on el crapitan
     

Share This Page