Applecare question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by makowb, Oct 4, 2008.

1. makowb macrumors member

This may sound a little stupid but I'm a poor college student and am always looking for good deals and I just found one that will help my MBP purchase (when they come out...). To be more precise, I am going to use live.com's 30% cashback offer to buy applecare off of ebay for a MBP, making it cost 154$ instead of 350$ brand new. Does anyone happen to know if I will be able to apply this to the new one? The thing is live.com's %off number goes up and down all the time capping at 30%. They also only have the ebay thing every few months or so. I could wait the 2 weeks to see, but I would hate to lose that deal.

2. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

SFStateStudent

If you are a college student you can buy AppleCare for $183, and you don't have to worry about shipping, bidding or waiting for it to arrive. Just my two cents.

3. makowb thread starter macrumors member

I go to University of Washington (not a small school) and the price is 240$ for Macbook Pro's, it's 350 MSRP, i doubt it would be 180 for students. On a side note, it's 180 for macbooks (on sale for 140 right now at my school.)

4. winninganthem macrumors 6502a

winninganthem

Good deal.

I bought Applecare on eBay for my MBP at $212 before Microsoft had that cashback thing going on. At my college, it's $240. Some colleges will give you MUCH better discounts, just that mine at the time was pretty lousy.

The way it works is that eBay sellers will either mail you the actual Applecare package, or they will at your request email you the serial number.

In either case, all you need to do to activate it is to go to apple.com/support and input your Applecare agreement number along with your MBP's serial number and a bunch of personal information and boom, you're registered with Applecare.