AppleCare replacement on unlocked phone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mhollandnyc, Feb 14, 2016.

  1. mhollandnyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #1
    So today I received a replacement 6S Plus. Everything went smoothly but when I received the new unit it asked me to select a carrier and the phone will be locked to that carrier and that this can not be undone.

    Now the odd thing is the phone is purchased through the iPhone Upgrade Program, it was originally for an ATT plan so it is model A1634, but I have since moved to Verizon.

    Is there the potential the phone is now locked? The Genius Bar people basically shrugged at the whole situation and said they think it should be fine, which isnt exactly encouraging.
     
  2. studIOS5 macrumors 6502a

    studIOS5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon, OH
    #2
    If purchased through the iPhone upgrade program, the device should not be tied to a carrier. That being said, if you have any doubt, I'd snag a friend's ATT sim card and make sure it works in the device.
     
  3. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #3
    Then I'd go back and make sure it's unlocked after testing a att sim.
     
  4. MephistoZap macrumors newbie

    MephistoZap

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    #4
    Or you could just select Verizon. They come factory unlocked.
     
  5. mhollandnyc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #5
    I just completed a chat session with the Apple online support, apparently in their system it shows the previous device as factory unlocked but this new one doesnt show an 'initial activation' but that it is currently on Verizon, they basically said it seems like a glitch and have escalated the issue to engineering.

    I know Verizon is unlocked on the GSM side, but I would prefer the device to be fully unlocked on the CDMA side as well.
     
  6. jeepik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #6
    I just went through this,..your phone has the wrong activation profile.....you need to call apple support snd hope you get put in touch with the right department....keep mentioning ACTIVATION PROFILE...this is what finally had my issue resolved..basically the genius bar screwed the pooch on this and had no idea how to fix it..
     
  7. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #7
    You should be fine. When I got my sim free 6s plus replaced at Apple. I had that same thing pop up. Genius told me that it's okay and it will not lock your device. I've tested with other SIM card not listed and still worked just fine.
     
  8. mhollandnyc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #8
    They replied back and asked me to restore through itunes or a forced recovery. They did have to reset something with the activation on their system since it said it was not properly activated, despite the phone working.

    I did the forced recovery just to be thorough and when it restore I received the "Congratulations your iphone has been unlocked message!'
     
  9. brianjsw01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    #9
    Yep if you got that message you are good. Genius Bar made the same mistake with me. Kicker is I even told them it should be unlocked before they activated it and they assured me I was good to go. Nope. They had still locked it. Had to email Apple my Repair Order showing the IMEI swap and then wait 24 hours for Apple support to perform the unlock.
     
  10. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    I don't believe there's really any locking on CDMA side, at lest not in the same sense as it applies to GSM, as it's mainly up to the CDMA carriers themselves as to whether or not they recognize and allow the phone basically.
     
  11. MephistoZap macrumors newbie

    MephistoZap

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    #11
    Verizon iPhones can be used on sprint, the esn just needs to be added to there database. You would probably would even have to add it for even a unlocked 6s bought from Apple. Especially since this device is a replacement.
     
  12. Appl3FTW macrumors 601

    Appl3FTW

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #12
    Apple will force you to restore your phone. All u need to do is grab a different SIM card and out t in ur phone, let it recognize the new sim and voila. If ur phone is unlocked it will do its thing with no problem.
     

Share This Page