Applecare replacing 7300gt $562

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by brendon2020, Sep 19, 2009.

1. brendon2020 macrumors 6502

Have the 2.66 mac pro with applecare and the video card has been acting up and apple said they would replace it.
    Gave me 3 options: send somebody out, send the new part and i mail back the old one, or bring it into the apple store.
    Given the mac pro weighs a ton (i have to bring in the whole computer) and i've been building computers for 10+ years i felt i could handle replacing the video card but they wanted a credit card to make sure that i would send back the old one. I know I should've asked how much but in the back of my mind it couldn't be more than $200. They sent me the invoice and i checked my card and they changed $562.76.

I know I should've asked but really? $562.76? They're currently selling a gtx 285 for $450 and the 7300gt in it day, if it had one, was no way near that price. I've called apple and they've apologized for not letting me know, even though i take the blame on that one, and will refund the money and send somebody out to replace the card. Hopefully the hold will be lifted soon.

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

3. Gomff macrumors 6502a

You have to wonder how long Apple can keep getting away with their exorbitant GPU prices.

4. Umbongo macrumors 601

Umbongo

Hopefully this thread comes up for anyone else searching for such information. Luckily Apple like to maintain their good customer service reputation, because billing you that without making it clear is pretty disgusting behaviour unless the person doing it was totally oblivious. You can pick them up for $200 new from apple parts supplliers, and for under $100 used.

You should have tried to get a 2600XT out of them really.

5. grue macrumors 65816

Service parts always have been and always will be more expensive than retail parts. It's part of the game.

6. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod