AppleCare so worth it!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bniu, Dec 19, 2013.

1. bniu macrumors 6502a

When I bought my top of the line 17" MBP, as a student, I had the opportunity to buy AppleCare for just $239 and it also covered my Thunderbolt Display. No problems until this past week with just 5 months left on AppleCare when I noticed my TBD had some "fog" like on one side of my screen. Turns out the panel was no longer working right, and got the TBD panel replaced (LED panel would've costed over $800!). Then, my MBP battery started to go bad just 300 cycles in and got it replaced for free (saved $200), then my GPU started to go have problems and I got the entire logic board replaced and saved another $530. So let's see, $239 let me duck almost about $1500 of repairs, not bad I'd say...

At the time that I bought it, I did it solely because money was tight as a student and I didn't want to potentially have to deal with hefty repair costs. Figured it was better to just create a fixed cost of $239 and not have constantly worry if the MBP would crap out on me.

Even if I never had problems, I still felt that $239 over two years was well worth the peace of mind that I didn't have to worry about potential issues cropping up with my MBP and TBD.

2. Yell0w macrumors regular

Thanks for sharing your story. I still have some time left before my 1 year limited warranty runs out, so I will be searching for some type of a discount.

3. yinz macrumors 6502a

I'm debating this issue right now. Do you mind if I ask how did you get the Applecare for so cheap?

4. Yell0w macrumors regular

I believe he had the student discount attached to it.

5. yinz macrumors 6502a

Interesting.. I didn't realize Applecare had an education discount. Maybe my area is different, but my Applecare isn't that cheap here even with the discount...

6. Idefix macrumors 6502

7. NeXT MacRumors macrumors member