ApplePowerMac G4 PowerPC w/733MHz Processor,1Gb RAM

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Trelous, Nov 5, 2007.

1. Trelous macrumors newbie

I am new to Mac's and have no idea on the value of the older Mac's. I have a few questions, was hoping for some light on the issue.:)
    I have an opportunity to buy a used ApplePowerMac G4 PowerPC w/733MHz Processor,1Gb RAM ... has OS X (Tiger) & 80 Gb Hard Drive ,DVD RW/CDRW. This computer is about 5-6 years old, and I could buy it for $350, is this a good price? (Is it a great deal, avg. price, over priced ... some explanation why if possible)
    How is the hardware in this computer? (will it last, or are there known problems with any of it)
    I currently use Linux (Ubuntu) ... my wife uses Windows XP ... this computer would be for both of us but mostly for my wife. We are hoping this computer will last, and use it for baby photo's ect ... so if we bought it, we are hoping it would last at least 5 years, get us into using Mac's and go from there. Any and all comments are welcome, Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

Sincerely,
    Trelous

2. motulist macrumors 601

motulist

That is not a good price. For a similar amount of money you could get a used mac mini and it'd be much faster and more powerful.

3. disconap macrumors 68000

disconap

$350 isn't terrible for the amount of RAM and the fact that you can upgrade that processor up to 2gHz (or dual 1.8gHz). I would try to get it down to $300 or lower if possible, but you could definitely do worse. Also find out the RAM configuration; if it is 2X512mb sticks, then it may be worth it. 4X256 (or if the model only takes three sticks, then 2X256 and 1X512) isn't as worth it.