Apple's Juniper Visa Card should I Apply?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by NyMetsFan08, Oct 24, 2008.

1. NyMetsFan08 macrumors regular

Hey everyone I have been improving my credit score for 3 months I turned 18 in August. I got approved for a credit card in August of 2008 and I have been paying it off and on time with minimum payments etc. which is helping my credit score. They offer me a very low limit not surprise since I was just starting out. It's now almost November and I was just wondering should I apply for the Juniper Visa Card? will I most likely get denied. Do you need excellent credit? I am planning to pay it all off before 90 days and then close it. Any ideas? if I should or not. Any details please let me know before I make a move.

2. tkidBOSTON macrumors 6502a

tkidBOSTON

Its a bad idea to open and close credit cards. If you can pay it off in 90 days, just pay cash. Or put part of it on your existing credit card and pay the remainder in cash and payoff the credit card once you get the bill the next month if you're looking to continue to build credit.

Further, if you search for Juniper Visa you will find a bunch of threads about why you should NOT apply for the card.

3. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

Chris Rogers

I would advise against it but seeing as you're only 18, there is more than likely no other place for you to get a good deal (interest wise). So I'd say apply and pay it off before the interest kicks in. If you must pay interest think of it as "a cost of building credit" and the longer it takes for you to pay it off, the more expensive the "cost"

I'd also imagine you getting turned down since you've only had a credit card for a few months. The activity from August is more than likely not even on your credit report yet. Worst thing that can happen is they say no.

Best ways to build credit get a cell phone in your name and have your parents change a utility (like cable) to your name.