AppleScript and Windows

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by JonL12345, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. JonL12345 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #1
    Is it possible to have AppleScript and Automator control Windows (and its applications)? Or, does AppleScript only integrate with OSX itself?

    Thanks,

    Jon
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    AppleScript is OS X only.
     
  3. JonL12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    No, it won't. AppleScript does not run in Windows.
     
  5. JonL12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #5
    Ok, was hoping it could send it a few keystrokes or something.
     
  6. see.solve. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    #6
    It might be possible to send Parallels keystrokes using GUI scripting. I've done similar things before with other programs to control/manipulate Windows environments.

    Try something like
    Code:
    tell app "Parallels" to activate
    
    tell app "System Events"
    	tell application process "Parallels"
    		-- add keystroke command
    		-- add delays, if needed, to allow computer time to process
    	end
    end
     

Share This Page