Applescript & Aperture -- useful?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by garycurtis, Apr 24, 2014.

  1. garycurtis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles & Northern California
    #1
    I'm a 1 year user of Aperture and am comfortable and fast with it.


    Who on earth needs to use Applescript in conjunction with Aperture? What chores does it automate?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I too use Aperture and have not found a need to use AS for anything yet, but I can where it would be helpful automating things if you were a power user.

    If you open Applescript Editor then do shift-command-o to open the AS Dictionary and select Aperture it will show you the AS functions available in Aperture. Maybe that will give you a feel for some of the uses people would have.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #3
    I need an Applescript that will alert me when Aperture 4 is available. :D
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I am starting to give up hope. :(
     
  5. garycurtis thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles & Northern California
    #5
    I played a bit with the AS Editor and looked at the commands relevant to Aperture. The date (EXIF) adjuster is about the only one that seems useful to me.

    Thanks.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    I guess if you need to do a batch change but in all honesty I've not seen a need to use AS in my Aperture workflow.
     

Share This Page