AppleScripts no longer working

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by parkds, Mar 1, 2016.

  1. parkds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    #1
    Hello,
    I have several AppleScripts that I use on a semi-regular basis. About a week ago I went to use one of them and nothing happened. I then tried every AppleScript I have and none of them are working. When I select them from the Script menu, nothing happens; there is no error message even. It is as if I had not selected it to run at all.

    Any ideas on what could be causing this or on a possible solution? I am running 10.11.3.

    Thanks so much!
     
  2. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #2
    Open one up. Make a trivial change. Recompile it. Save it. See if it works.
    Apple occasionally mucks around with the compiler. Usually they tell us. However, if you brought these scripts in from a different Mac, they very well may need recompiling before they will run. Helpful AppleScript error messages have never been one of Apple's strong points.
     
  3. parkds thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    #3
    Partron,
    Thanks for the suggestions. It is very odd, when I go to open the script, the Script Editor launches but it doesn't open the script (or any script actually). I have tried redownloading the script and it still still won't open in the Editor.

    AppleScripts were working perfectly a few weeks ago. I haven't made any major changes to the computer or OS in that time.
     
  4. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #4
    If the Scripts were compiled on an earlier version of the OS, you may need to find a running copy of that OS, save of copy of your Scripts as text and then recompile that on your 10.11.3 Mac before they will run.
    I've run across that problem on some of my older AppleScripts. Fortunately I have Macs that go back to System 9.2.
     
  5. parkds thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    #5
    Partron,
    Thanks for sticking with me on solving this. I opened the Script on a computer running an older OS without any issue. I then copied the text and recompiled in Script Editor. Oddly, when I save the script it is not actually saving. The save dialog comes up, I name it, hit SAVE, and then the files doesn't actually get saved. It doesn't show up where I saved it and the file name in the title bar for the window is still marked "Untitled". This is the only app on my computer exhibiting this behavior.
     

Share This Page