AppleTV 4K US vs EU

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by tom4ktm, Mar 8, 2018.

  1. tom4ktm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    #1
    Hello guys,

    Actually I am in the US for a few weeks, but I am from central Europe. I would like to buy a new AppleTV 4K 64GB here in the US, because of the much better price. (from Amazon)

    But, I am not sure if I can fell some difference that device will be directly from US? Actually “prepared” for the US customer and not for the EU guy?

    Do you think that there can be some problem, or difference at all between these products? If am correct, there is no any country localization at all in it.


    Thank you very much for your help, and I wish you all the best,

    Sincerely Thomas.
     
  2. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Aside from the power cable, I can't see it being any different.
     
  3. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #3
    Correct. And the internal power supply supports 110-240 Volts, so you don't even need a transformer to use it in Europe.
     
  4. tom4ktm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    #4
    Thank you very much for help.

    So and question about PAL or NTSC is not really needed because i will select on appletv my own resolution?
     
  5. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #5
    PAL/NTSC doesn't really matter for digital video. The ATV can detect via HDMI which resolutions and refresh rates are supported by your TV. You can either manually select one of these modes, or let the ATV4K switch automatically based on the content.
     
  6. kiranmk2 macrumors 6502a

    kiranmk2

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #6
    I bought a US Apple TV when I lived there for a year. No issues back in the UK at all.
     
  7. tom4ktm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    #7
    Copied, thank you very much for help.

    Wish you all the best!
     
  8. geesus macrumors 6502

    geesus

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    #8
    If you don't have an old Apple TV though you will need to buy a different power cable, unless the US version includes both. Here in the UK you only get the UK plug-ended cable, for example. The units themselves are identical worldwide but you will have to source a cable with your country's plug on the end.
     
  9. tom4ktm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    #9
    I have old power cable, so this issue is solved.

    Have a nice day, thanks.
     
  10. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #10
    The Apple TV uses power cords with a standard C7 ("figure 8") connector. They are very common and easy to find.
     
  11. LiveM macrumors 65816

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #11
    PAL and NTSC are analogue SD encoding formats for composite video, so are not an issue at all.
     
  12. tonyr6 macrumors 65816

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #12
    What about the channels? Does the US ATV push US only channels like Hulu which would not work in the UK or does it go by your location and push UK only channels like BBC, Channel 4 etc?
    --- Post Merged, Mar 14, 2018 ---
    What about 50Hz Europe vs 60Hz North America?
     
  13. tom4ktm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    #13
    I think there is possibility to preselect the frequency on the TV or ApplteTV.. I quess, I do not remember
     
  14. Agent47 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    #14
    The frequency doesn't matter, it will work. What is allowed to connect depends on what you enter for your location during setup.
     
  15. tom4ktm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    #15
    Good point, thanks.
     
  16. kiranmk2 macrumors 6502a

    kiranmk2

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #16
    The software pushes channels and Apps based on the location of your Apple account. i.e., if I sign in with my US account I am directed to the US App store and therefore have access to things like HULU etc and the US TV app. Apps on the home screen don't change (i.e. UK-only apps that are installed can still be run when signed in to a US account). However, these Apps themselves will likely look at your location and refuse to play anything so you may need a DNS service.

    When I was in the US I used a US account logged in most of the time to access US Netflix, HULU etc, but subscribed to Unlocator to also allow access to UK catchup TV app streams.
     

Share This Page

15 March 8, 2018