AppleTV and HDCP

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rrm74001, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. rrm74001 macrumors regular

    rrm74001

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #1
    I am constantly getting the "This content requires HDCP for playback" error with my AppleTV (with iTunes purchased content). Sometimes I am able to resolve by just doing "Settings > General > Restart" on the AppleTV, but that only works about 25% of the time. Usually a combination of restarting both my TV and the AppleTV does the trick. But I really can't be bothered anymore. If I have to go to all that effort everytime just to watch my iTunes content, I am just going to start using it as a paperweight.

    This issue is all over the internet. The main "fix" is restarting both the TV and AppleTV. Yes, that does fix it. But when the AppleTV goes in to sleep mode again, the error comes back.

    This is a silly problem. Is there any actual fix for this? Is this common for HDCP devices?
     
  2. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #2
    What version of ATV are you using and could this be an HDMI cable issue? Also what is your setup when watching the content:

    ATV connected to receiver via hdmi in, hdmi out from receiver to tv
    ATV connected to tv via hdmi
     
  3. rrm74001 thread starter macrumors regular

    rrm74001

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #3
    It's the 3rd generation AppleTV. Not sure of the exact software version, but I checked for updates a couple days ago and I had the latest version. I have tried 3 differernt HDMI cables. None of them were Monster cables, but a cable is a cable as far as I am concerned. Why would it sometimes work and sometimes not? It either works or it doesn't.

    The AppleTV is connected directly to the TV via HDMI.
     
  4. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #4
    I don't recall reading it, but have you had this setup for a while now and it just started to do this or is this a new ATV and it has been doing this from the get go?

    I don't know if you have read this thread or not, but this issues seems to be almost the exact same thing you are experiencing.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2655620

    Then, I also found this:

    1). Leave your Apple TV device ON.
    2). Turn OFF your TV for 10 seconds.
    3). Turn ON your TV.
    4). Now attempt to view the content on your Apple TV (hopefully without error).


    Re: cable I agree.
     
  5. Beerstalker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
  6. rrm74001 thread starter macrumors regular

    rrm74001

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #6
    I have had the AppleTV for a while now, but I have only recently started watching iTunes content. Before I was only really using it for AirPlay.

    Restarting my TV just to get it working seems like a silly solution. But I will give it a shot and see how consistently that fixes it.
     
  7. Beerstalker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    #7
    You probably don't even need to "restart" your TV. Switching to a different HDMI input and back will likely fix it. This is an HDCP error, and your TV may have a firmware update to fix it.

    If you gave us the model number of your TV we would probably have a better idea. Some TVs are known for many HDMI/HDCP issues.
     
  8. rrm74001 thread starter macrumors regular

    rrm74001

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #8
    Nope.

    It's a brand new Samsung UN65J6300. No firmware updates are available currently.
     

Share This Page