appletv disconnects all the time

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by combustible, Aug 3, 2007.

  1. combustible macrumors newbie

    combustible

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Location:
    australia
    #1
    hi there,

    i got myself one of these fancy appletv things, which replaced an aging mac mini as my multimedia hub. but it is constantly disconnecting from my iMac (which is set to stream), and then randomly failing to reconnect. i never once had a problem with the mini.
    i'm running a pure 802.11n network now (off a new airport extreme base station), and expected the performance of a dedicated device to be better than the mini.

    also, it cannot keep up with movies that i've encoded as h.264 4000kbps (PAL 25fps 720x428 and other similar resolutions) is that to be expected, or is something wrong there too?

    any help would be appreciated, or maybe i've got a dud?
     
  2. jbellas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    #2
    same here

    i've had the same problem, ever since i bought the thing on the day it came out. i too have an airport extreme base station. i took it back to the apple store i got it from about a month ago, explained it all to them, and they said i must have recieved a defective unit. so they gave me a new one. i took it home, re-synced, and all seemed well, until it happened again. and again. it graudually got worse until it's right back where i started. what baffles me is that i also have a wii, ds, and wireless printer connecting to my airport, and they have never given me a single problem. why is it that my appletv and my macpro are the only two devices in my home that give me problems???

    as a note, i've since then patched straight into my router via ethernet, and it seems to remedy it, as well as give me a faster connection for some reason.
     
  3. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #3
    Mine is MIA, on occassion

    Missing in Action, that is.

    Every once in a while, I'll be looking at something in iTunes (7.3.2) and "POOF" the aTV disappears. Restarting iTunes brings the aTV back. Then I'll click on the aTV device in iTunes to modify a setting and "Poof!" there it goes again.

    Not what I expected of Apple.

    I use a MPB Pro, Airport Express, aTV 160GB, so nothing fancy going on. I previously had to bring down and bring back up my network, AEx included, in order to get them to sync.

    Perhaps Steve's pending announcement is that Apple has succeeded in keeping aTV in communication with a network? ;-)

    -- Mikie
     
  4. Help! macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #4
    This happens to me occasionally. I have an airport extreme switching from 2.4 to 5ghz seemed to help a bit, but it could just be in my head.
     
  5. drater macrumors 6502a

    drater

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    this also happens to me, but it seems like it happens only when i turn off my computer and turn it back on while the :apple:tv is off. works fine when I turn it back on though.
     
  6. OldSkoolNJ macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #6
    I just went through this whole thing. After much work (and I dont kow networking very well) and on and off with Apple, a replacement unit and so forth we found out what it is. Your Network is getting some kind of interference either by a phone or someone elses network. You don't notice it on your computer because they will automatically connect. The AppleTV does not auto re connect especially if security. First thing to try is another channel or set it to auto channel. Other thing I recently did was got rid of my encryption and went to Access Control instead. First thing it is the greatest thing I did for my network. It is so much faster. Also now the AppleTV doesnt have an password to forget if it gets disconnected. I am not claiming this is what your problems are for sure but deff give em a try. Since I did all this I have no problems what so ever.

    Kevin :apple:
     
  7. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #7
    Thanks

    Kevin, I will try this. Thanks for the info!
     
  8. jbellas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    #8
    i can vouch for this as well. i was having problems until i rearranged the area where i have all my devices. i had my Wii sitting on top of my router, and after i separated them, everything worked beautifully.
     

Share This Page