AppleTV "Disconnects" from iTunes

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by utazdevl, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. utazdevl macrumors regular

    utazdevl

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #1
    Apologies if this is an already discussed topic, but does anyone else have issues where out of the blue, your AppleTV doesn't see your iTunes, and its content? I just upgraded from a 1st Gen AppleTV (boy, do I miss my hacked box with a 2TB external drive attached) to a 3rd Gen (I do love the 1080p capability) and more than ever, I will go to the AppleTV and it doesn't seem to see my iTunes (which is always running). It just sticks on the screen where it is accessing my iTunes.

    The way I resolve this issue is to quit and restart the iTunes on my machine (2011 iMac). That does fix the problem, but it is annoying as my iMac is in another room of my house, and sometimes my wife has to do this when I am not home, and she has no understanding of the difference between "Quit iTunes" and "Close the iTunes window".

    Anyone have a solution to the ATV question (not to teaching my wife about computers).

    Thanks.
     
  2. whoiare macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #2

    There is a HUGE thread on this already. but ill help you out...the solution is to disconnect the ATV3 from the WIRED ethernet port and just connect wirelessly. There is an issue with the ATV timing out when connected wired. BUt i would suggest going back to the atv1, adding a broadcom card and staying with the hacked box.
     
  3. utazdevl thread starter macrumors regular

    utazdevl

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #3
    I had a feeling this was previously a much discussed topic. Sorry for the redundancy.

    My issue becomes that with the ATV 3, the HD encodes take forever to load and play when the connection is wireless, that is why I use a wired connection.

    More interesting is the "broadcom card" option on the ATV1. I am going to look into what this means, but I assume it will allow me to stream 1080p content on the ATV1? Then, my only issue will be the lack of Netflix on the box, but I already have a Roku, and frankly, I prefer the UI of the ATV 1 and Roku Netflix to the ATV3.

    Thanks.
     
  4. whoiare macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #4

    yep...that is the problem with the ATV3 ATM.....HD encodes barely load on wireless, but it kicks off itunes if you leave it plugged in. I leave mine unplugged and plug it in only to watch movies then unplug it after the fact...might be a WAF issue.maybe you can leave it unplugged and only plug it in to use it

    yes look up crystalbuntu and stmlabs...there you will find everything you need to know about the broadcom chip and installing it to run 1080P. but yes you lose netflix
     
  5. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    i can only disagree with both points here!

    HD encodes (even 1080p) load fine on the ATV i have connected via wireless.
    my other ATV connected via ethernet never has issues with itunes connectivity.
     
  6. frankpc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #6
    disconnects wireless and wired

    I too have the new ATV3. I've had the ATV3 for several days.

    Since it would disconnect after a few minutes wireless, I changed it to Ethernet. It disconnects just as frequently on Ethernet.

    Have no idea what to do about it.

    It downloads the entire song in one burst. So at such time as the song is finished, it attempts to download another. Often, the 'next' song will not download.
     
  7. frankpc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #7
    fixed?

    It seems that when the firewall is turned off, the ATV3 does NOT disconnect from the computer. I've just listened to a CD's worth of songs. and it is still working. I'm starting to trust it.

    I also turned my AntiVirus off as well, but I really don't think that is involved.

    Incidentally, the ATV3 didn't fully 'disconnect' from the computer with the firewall on. I could still select songs on the ATV3 by either using my iPad or the ATV3's remote control, but the songs would not download to the ATV3.
     
  8. rayward macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #8
    FWIW, I have 2 ethernet-connected ATV3s, that would disconnect all the time as described above. I have yet to update their software, but the recent 10.8.2 update of Mountain Lion appears to have cured the disconnection issue.

    Both have been rock solid since the ML update.
     
  9. frankpc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #9
    Firewall with ports passing through

    Thanks rayward,

    All info helps. I have been working with a windows XP computer but I also have a Mac running Lion. I will put Mountain Lion on it.

    I haven't had any disconnects to my windows PC since I turned the firewall off. Then I turned it back on and I allowed the following ports to pass through it:

    TCP 3689 , UDP 5353

    And it has worked fine. It used to disconnect in just several minutes.

    I haven't tried it with my Mac long enough to be sure how it is working with Lion. But it seemed to work for the limit tests I made.

    So with Mountain Lion and Airplay, can you see all the Mac's files on the ATV3? As soon as I get some time, I want to install Mountain Lion and give that a shot.

    Thanks for your comments.

    Frank
     

Share This Page