AppleTV OTA updates

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Cyacene, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. Cyacene macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #1
    We're all kinda expecting the Apple Tv to receive an update to support airplay. What hasn't really been talked about is how we will be getting this update. Presumably, and from evidence right in the menu, we will be getting it pushed out to our units over the internet. So this is an iOS 4 device getting an update without plugging into iTunes. Hope it's that easy, but also hope it's a glimpse into the future of our other iOS devices.
     
  2. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #2
    I hope there aren't going to be OTA updates. The last thing I need is for Apple to mess with my jailbroken ATV2...

    If it's going to happen, I'd hope for the ability to pass on the update and still be usable on 4.x or whatever the current firmware is.
     
  3. Cyacene thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #3
    Yeah thats a good point. I would hope they would give you the option to not update. But this is actually the reason I havent JB yet to get Plex going :D
     
  4. BruiserB macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #4
    There's an "Update Software" link under the settings menu, if my memory serves me correctly. I've tried selecting it and received the message that my AppleTV has the most recent software. I would guess that that's how we'll eventually do the updates. I suppose there may be a push notification that there is new software to download, but somehow I doubt it would just do the update without the user having to accept it (and probably acknowledge some new terms and conditions on the software update).
     
  5. Arran macrumors 68040

    Arran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    #5
    I owned a couple of the original ATVs.

    When an update was available, there would be a "popup" notification and I could install or skip. Rather like how iTunes tells you there's an ipod firmware update.
     
  6. georgee2face macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #6
    Ha! I remember having one of the original Tivos...the ones that let us BYPASS, no fast forward, through the commercial breaks. One morning, after tivo saying only the newest tivos would be affected by an optional update, our old tivos were magically updated to delete our option.

    I would always want the OPTION to update. hope we keep that
    G
     

Share This Page