AppleTV won't play 720P

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by fermentj, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. fermentj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    #1
    After reading some forums I decided to see if I can play 1280 x 720 video on my Apple TV.


    I created a file in HB using setting listed in some other forum.

    I have also tried many different Bit rate settings, constant quality vs fixed. The only time it will play is if I move it to the default ATV format which is 960x something


    The video shows up and plays fine in Itunes, but when I try to sync that video it says

    Here are the settings from Itunes.

    Do some AppleTVs not play 720 content?

    Can someone send me a short 720 file to see if it will play on my atv?


    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #2
    Your bitrate needs to be to below 5kbs and filesize no larger than 4GB.
     
  3. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    To play 720P video it MUST be encoded using 24 FPS.
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    Why not just use the standard HB Apple TV HD presets?

    TEG
     
  5. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #5
    This is not true.
     
  6. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #6
    People could actually read the tech specs.

    Video formats supported
    H.264 and protected H.264 (from iTunes Store): Up to 5 Mbps, Progressive Main Profile (CAVLC) with AAC-LC audio up to 160 Kbps (maximum resolution: 1280 by 720 pixels at 24 fps, 960 by 540 pixels at 30 fps) in .m4v, .mp4, and .mov file formats
    iTunes Store purchased video: 320 by 240 pixels, 640 by 480 pixels, 720 by 480 pixels (anamorphic), or high-definition 720p


    Any iTunes videos that are 720P are at 24fps.

    24fps is the key.
     
  7. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #7
    I agree; that is likely the culprit here. An activity log would do wonders in assisting with this issue.
     
  8. stlredbird macrumors 6502

    stlredbird

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #8
    As everyone else has said FPS is the most likely culprit.
    Also I've gotten HD content to stream to ATV at well over 5000 Kbps and at 25 fps.
     
  9. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #9
    This is not true... I have a several files that are in the high 6gig range. They play fine via streaming.
     
  10. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #10
    Also the file's profile has to be Main not High. It could be your settings, which you did not post here. The more info you give us, the better the feedback you will get.
     
  11. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #11
    Actually, thats not entirely true. From my latest hb encode for the atv. (plays fine).
    Code:
    x264 [info]: profile High, level 3.1
     
  12. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #12
    Don't complicate things... it will just lead to more chaos on the HB forums! ;)
     
  13. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #13
    lol. true ... very true ...
     
  14. GreatDrok macrumors 6502a

    GreatDrok

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    Actually, 25fps also works since all my encodes are from NZ broadcasts where HD broadcasts at 50Hz and I use QuickTime to encode them in HD for my AppleTV.

    The attached screenshot was taken from a 1080i/50 broadcast which was converted to 720P. Note the bitrate is over 5MB but that includes audio so the actual video rate is less than 5MB. The FPS is 25. Just a pity that QuickTime doesn't preserve the 5.1 surround.

    This plays perfectly on my ATV.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. fermentj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    #15
    Thanks for all the feedback so far.

    So all I did was point to a HD Video I took with my camera, I clicked the default AppleTV setting.

    Then I changed the width / height setting to 1280 and the bitrate to 5000.

    The thing I think I missed was changed the FPS to 24, I left it as "same as source"
     
  16. fermentj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    #16
    So the 24FPS worked, BUT (there is always a but) the video is really jerky, I'm running a couple more playing with the bitrates.

    I'll let you know what looks the best.
     
  17. GreatDrok macrumors 6502a

    GreatDrok

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    Try using QuickTime to convert your HD Video for the Apple TV. If it is HD, QuickTime will convert it to 720P and the correct frame rate. I've had problems with HandBrake conversions of my EyeTV recordings being really jerky while the QuickTime conversions aren't. I wanted to use HandBrake so I could preserve the 5.1 audio but the video is more important so QuickTime is the choice.
     
  18. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #18
    You can try enabling the deteleceine filter... it might help.

    Or just encode using the AppleTV preset @ 960x540p (compatible at up to 30fps).
     
  19. Bye Bye Baby macrumors 65816

    Bye Bye Baby

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    i(am in the)cloud
    #19
    Please let us know when it works and what settings you actually got to function.
     
  20. 11thIndian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #20
    I think you're trying to make this too complicated by manually modifying settings. Handbrake, Visual Hub, and Quicktime all have AppleTV presets that will scale to proper 720 settings when given an HD source file [720 or 1080].
     
  21. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #21
    Make sure that you manually set the framerate to 25, handbrake gets the wrong framerate if you use same as source, 100 for tv1.

    I always use hb for my freeview encodes, and can assure you it worls great.

    I use quality based encoding with a bitrate limiter to keep the bitrate less than 5mbps. Means lower bitrates when you don't need it.

    Cheers, Ed
     
  22. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #22
    You need to manually set the framerate when using the preset, a lot of HD is 50/60fps which is too high for the ATV.

    Cheers Ed
     

Share This Page