Applications closing after a few seconds.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by tribeone, Jan 2, 2012.

1. tribeone macrumors newbie

OK, I'm new to MAC's and learning how to get around. I have a power mac g4 running mac OS x 10.4.11 and OS 9. I t was working fine when I got it and today I did and update of the QuickTime and safari. After the update completed my menu bar at the top(whole bar) and my desktop icons are all flashing. Nothing I open stays open for more than 3 to 5 seconds. So I tried doing a restore to factory settings and now after the reboot I have a blue screenl. Can anyone at all help? I used this to restore:

First hold the command & S

root# /sbin/fsck -fy (don't forget the spaces)

root # /sbin/mount -uw /

root# rm /var/db/.Applesetupdone

root# Reboot

2. rgwoehr macrumors member

That doesn't restore it, that just reruns the Setup Assistant. To restore it you'll have to reinstall OS X

3. lgwells1 macrumors regular

lgwells1

I don't know if this would do anything but, boot to an OS X CD/DVD and using Disk Util, repair disk permissions. May not do anything, but it is not like it won't hurt anything.

4. tribeone thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the idea but I don't have any disk at all. Also it wont let me boot in safe mode. I am holding down the shift key when I reboot/start the mac.

5. tribeone thread starter macrumors newbie

Tiger is os x 10.4.11 right? That cost an arm n a leg aggghhhh!!!!!

6. rgwoehr macrumors member

Yeah it is. It's ridiculous that people are trying to sell it for almost the original price. You might be able to get it a little cheaper on eBay.

7. tribeone thread starter macrumors newbie

I found it on ebay full install set it says (black disk not grey) 10.4 tiger server. Can I use that? Also I do see tiger dvd/cd full install but only one disk (Black retail not Grey), how can it be full install? Does one disk have all the other stuff like safari itunes quicktime etc etc?

8. rgwoehr macrumors member