Apps not available in UK App Store?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mouchoir, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. mouchoir macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Here is a list of Apps (that I have noticed) that for some reason or other have yet to cross the Atlantic:

    Google Mobile
    Jott
    Loopt

    Does anyone know why this may be so?
     
  2. byron_hinson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    #2
    Some apps are not localised - like many of the movie apps we have too - they only work in the US.
     
  3. tico24 macrumors 6502

    tico24

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Eastleigh, UK
    #3
    The problem is that there's no consistency. A couple of the 'things near me' applications only appear to have data for the US but they're in the UK store.
     
  4. byron_hinson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    #4
    Yep - very annoying and something I didn't expect to see from the store - even some of the buyable apps are not localised for the UK yet are for sale here too
     
  5. mouchoir thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    That is understandable, but for an app like Jott I can't see where localisation comes in?
     
  6. tripout macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #6
    The Jott service is not available to anyone outside the US. To use the app you still have to be registered with the normal Jott service.
     
  7. DeanoUK macrumors newbie

    DeanoUK

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
  8. TonyHoyle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    Since loopt uses text messages to communicate they would need to find a way to send them across the UK that didn't cost them shedloads of money.

    IMO better apps that do the same thing will be available - using SMS for this on a device which has unlimited data is kind of lame.
     
  9. onescoop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #9
    iirc, it's developers who get the choice of where their app is available
     
  10. tico24 macrumors 6502

    tico24

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Eastleigh, UK
    #10
    the ebay app links to ebay.com and not ebay.co.uk (you wouldn't see any UK sales if you used it). So its down to localisation again.
     
  11. colcass macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    i wanted loopt too
    why showcase it at 'WW'DC if they are not going to let it be available to a World Wide audience
    Maybe its the case of the portion of americans who forget or dont care about foreign countries.
    Maybe its cos Tony Blair ain't hand in hand with Bushy anymore?

    Last bits were in jest obviously
    partially
     
  12. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #12
    That's correct - the developer chooses regions to supply to when they submit their app.
     
  13. foiegras macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #13
    Can anyone get the AIM app working?

    I can't get it to work, it keeps saying a I need a 'Network Connection'. I've tried it on both WiFi and off O2's 3G network.
     
  14. byron_hinson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    #14
    Worked fine for me yesterday
     

Share This Page