Apps reloading ip7+

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by UKapple73, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. UKapple73 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #1
    had my ip7plus about 3 days now and I've noticed when you go to app switcher and tap on an app you used only a few minutes ago, it reloads as if it's been pushed out of memory
    WTF?? It's supposed to have 3gb of ram!!
    Surely ios10 isn't memory managing very well!
     
  2. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #2
    Does it happen to all apps?
    Or just to a particular app?
     
  3. UKapple73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #3
    Most apps will reload when I go back to them even though it's only been a short time. Not good
     
  4. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
  5. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #5
    What apps do you have running?
     
  6. UKapple73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #6
    It's almost as if the os doesn't realise there's 3gb to play with and cuts stuff out of memory. Or maybe the extra 2gb isn't available to all apps?!
     
  7. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #7
    Extra 1GB you mean?
     
  8. UKapple73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #8
    It's pretty much everything tbh. Twitter facebook, YouTube, even stock apps like music, messages, mail and App Store
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    No I have 7plus
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    Sorry should qualify, I'm coming from a ip6plus so it's 2gb extra for me lol
     
  9. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #9
    7 Plus has 3GB
    7 has 2GB
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    The reloads on 7 are worst as there is only 2GB
     
  10. UKapple73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #10
    It's got 3gb of ram and it's reloading App Store!! Something not quite right
     
  11. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #11
    Ok figured. You must be doing heavy multitasking?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    Sounds totally not right. You setup everything as new?
     
  12. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #12
    iOS 10 is a little more aggressive with ram management than iOS 9. It's the same in the 6s Plus. Since iOS 10, not a lot of things stay alive in the background.
     
  13. UKapple73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #13
    No restored from backup, can't lose everything and tbh shouldn't have to. Already had to download all my music again because apple won't let you simply copy music from your old iPhone to the new one. Ridiculous
     
  14. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #14
    Maybe the RAM is being used to store something else.
     
  15. UKapple73 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #15
    I've reset several times and that should purge the ram
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    Just discovered that if you open the app from the home screen, it doesn't reload- but from the app switcher it does!! Strange
     
  16. iphone1027 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #16
    Strange. I'll have to take a look at my 7+ & see if it performs the same.
     
  17. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #17
    How was it?
     

Share This Page