Apps wont work

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Thyrfa, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. Thyrfa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #1
    I installed Windows 7 on a Mac mini, 4 GB ram, with a 2GHz intel core 2 duo processor. I set up the partition, formatted it (The size was around 35 gb) and installed windows. I got on, and tried to play games (The reason for windows) but none of them will start. Help?
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Windows boots and loads fine?
    Do other programs run?

    What games?

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  4. Paul B macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #4
    What games? Try running them in compatibility mode.
     
  5. Thyrfa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #5
    The games I have tried so far are Battlefield Heroes and Empire total war (Empire was downloaded from steam) Both of them will start and then immediately become unresponsive. I have friends who can play both with no issues, so I do not believe it is the games.
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Ok, lets start back at the beginning and tell us exactly what you did

    You used Boot Camp Assistant?
    You installed a valid retail copy of Windows 7?
    You are booting directly into Windows successfully?
    Other programs work the way they should in Windows 7?


    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  7. Thyrfa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #7
    1. Yes
    2. Yes
    3. Yes
    4. I dont have many programs, but steam and chrome both work fine, except for Steam not being able to boot up Empire total war of course.
     
  8. Thyrfa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #8
    Ok, I read somewhere about drivers that need to be installed for bootcamp... is that it?
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    Yes, you do need to install Boot Camp drivers

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     

Share This Page