AppsFire - How is this possible?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by MACloop, Mar 21, 2011.

1. MACloop macrumors 6502

Hello everyone!
    I have the app AppsFire and I am a bit curious about how they are able to see what apps I have installed on my iPhone? I thought every app lives in a sandbox and one app does not know anything about/ cannot communicate with other apps installed on the iPhone. This app though, somehow seems to know what I have installed on my phone...? How do they do that? Any ideas? They must have found a way to go around the sandbox problematic or are there other ways to see what apps are installed on a specific iPhone?
    I think this is very interesting! Any Ideas how this is solved?
    Thanks in advance!
    MACloop

2. JFire, Mar 21, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 21, 2011

JFire macrumors newbie

Hi MACloop,

I'm a Product Manager at Appsfire. We're happy you've found the app and hope you're enjoying.

Everything we do is within Apple's guidelines and plays by the rules that all other apps play by. Think about using FB Connect within an app on on iPhone - you're directed to Facebook's app for authentication and then redirected back to the app you connected from. Nothing magical.

Cheers,

Jonathan

3. MACloop, Mar 21, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 21, 2011

MACloop thread starter macrumors 6502

Hello Jonathan,