Appstore wants password at startup

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Lowrider, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. Lowrider macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #1
    For some reason, whenever I open the appstore on my phone, it wants my iTunes password immediately after startup (2-5 sec after). I don't have to download or update any apps, it just does that automatically. It started doing this for no reason about two weeks ago.

    Anyone know what's causing this?
     
  2. TheWelshBoyo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #2
    Same thing has happened to me, but I thought it was just so I didn't have to type it every time you bought an app, but then it does still ask me to put my password in then. Who knows what it's for...
     
  3. Lowrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #3
    Well, at least I'm not alone, that always help me feel a bit better about the situation :)

    Hopefully someone can help us...
     
  4. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #4
    Try checking for purchases on your computer. I had something that I could not download on my phone so every time I started up iTunes, it would ask me for my password. Finally I downloaded it on my computer and the password prompts stopped.
     
  5. Lowrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
  6. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #6
    Itunes / store / check for puchases.
     
  7. Lowrider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #7
    I have only "check for available downloads", but I guess that's it right?

    It seems that I've downloaded all purchased content, so I guess that isn't it...



    EDIT: I think I just solved the problem, I downloaded all available app updates in iTunes and the problem has gone away...
     
  8. redgaz26 macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16)

    Had the same thing. Update in iTunes then sync the phone!!
    No problems since!
     
  9. kicko macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #9
    Mine does that too, i think its just a bug, you can hit cancel and just proceed about your day.
     

Share This Page