Apricorn Velocity Solo Mac Edition - Don't recognize under win7 bootcamp partition

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Khendal, Jun 4, 2012.

  1. Khendal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #1
    Hello, i have a problem in my mac pro mid 2010.

    I have Lion 10.7.4 installed in my Velocity Solo Mac Edition...it's all perfect, faster etc... but i have some problem when i try to install a win7 bootcamp partition.

    When i boot in win7 hard disk partition, i'm impossible to boot again Lion on the velocity solo mac edition.

    I've found some driver for marvell 88e91XX i can see and read the ssd disk under my computer folder but i cannot restart in osx lion becouse under bootcamp i can't see my velocity solo bootable.

    Anyone of you have resolve this issue ?

    I cannot use the alt boot to choose the startup disk because i've modded my mac pro by installed a nvidia gtx580 so i have a black boot screen...so i need to see the bootable velocity under bootcamp application in win7.

    Thanks for your help and sorry for my english ;)
     
  2. VirtualRain, Jun 4, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012

    VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    I'm sorry, I don't have any experience with boot camp under Window's but I'm considering getting a couple of these Apricorn Solo's... can you comment on the maximum transfer rates you're getting? Can you run a couple of benchmarks like AJA system test and/or Blackmagic?

    Nevermind, Apricon got back to me with this...

     
  3. lastmile macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #3
    I don't own a Velocity Solo Mac Edition but am planning to buy on when the new version comes out.

    What do they mean by a new version that will be bootable? The Mac version will boot OS X and I assume the other one will boot Windows. Will the Mac version not boot Windows?

    OK, just read another thread and this seems to be the case. That sucks. I don't want to have to give up a slot for OS X and another for Windows. I guess Windows will end up going on a regular hard drive.
     
  4. Khendal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #4
    I have in my mac pro this situation :

    Solo velocity Mac Edition: SSD Boot Lion 10.7.4
    Bay 1 1tb sata 2 empty now…where was old Lion osx.
    Bay 2 1tb sata 2 apps, music video etc… shared files
    Bay 3 1tb sata 2 pictures and library backup
    Bay 4 1tb sata 2 bootcamp partition win7 64bit (empty now)

    The Solo is bootable and is a good sata 3 controller...better then standard sata 2 but when i install a bootcamp partition the problem is :

    -from Osx startup disk...i see both hd (ssd lion, hd win7)
    -when i boot windows... after installed some marvell driver for 88E91xx sata controller i can see/read/copy etc... from lion ssd... but when i open the bootcamp control panel...i can't restart and boot to OSX because the Solo isn't recognize... my ssd is invisible to boot !

    And it's a great problem for me, because i have upgraded also my graphic card with a GTX580 and i cannot start with option key to choose the boot...because i have a black boot screen.
     
  5. Khendal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
  6. Ve3tro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #6
    Oh my lol I have the exact same problem. :p

    Bootcamp control panel doesn't see my OCZ-AGILITY 3 SSD and I also have the same boot up black screen problem due to using a GTX 580.

    Only thing I can do is turn the Mac off then remove the HDD with Windows installed and since the SSD is the only other bootup disk it automatically reboots to OSX.

    If I do find a solution I'll post it here.
     
  7. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #7
    @Ve3tro & @ Khendal:

    I don't know why your SSDs aren't displayed in Windows's start volume prefs, but you don't even have to use it.

    Under OS X ->System Preferences->Start Volume, just select the OS you usually want to boot into.
    In case you want to boot into the other one, just press and hold the alt/option key immediately after turning on/restarting your Mac. This will get you into the boot selection screen, where you can pick the OS you want to boot from just this one time. This will not alter the priority set in the Start Volume prefs.
     
  8. Ve3tro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #8
    We sadly can't do the boot selection screen since we're both using non-Apple graphic cards instead of official Apple ones with EFI boot.
     
  9. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #9
    Ah, sorry, I read over that bit...
     
  10. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #10
    A point to consider: Even though the boot screen isn't displayed by your graphics cards, it's still there. Using the arrow keys and enter it should be fairly easy to select the correct drive/partition blindly.
     
  11. Khendal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #11
    I've tried to remove the win7 hd... osx doesn't boot.

    For the boot option blindly... which are the exact order for partition ? :D
     
  12. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #12
    You could find out by trial and error, but it should be 1st partition of 1st disk, 2nd partition of 1st disk, 1st partition of 2nd disk...
     
  13. TKawaguchi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Japan
    #13
    Velocity Solo on my Mac Pro 2010 is bootable on the BootCamp control panel

    Hello,

    I can see the SSD on my Velocity Solo Mac Edition bootable on the BootCamp control panel, so I do not know why you cannot, but you should be able to reboot from the SSD by doing one of the followings:

    1) Reset the PRAM by booting your Mac Pro pressing Command-Option-P-R keys. This resets your Mac's startup disk to the default. For more information, see:
    <http://support.apple.com/kb/PH4405> and <http://support.apple.com/kb/PH4405>

    2) If your Mac Pro is not a Lion pre-installed model, boot it from the Installer DVD by pressing C key, then select "Startup Disk..." from the Utilities Menu.

    3) Remove your SSD from Velocity Solo and attach it to a hard drive bay on your Mac Pro (requires a SSD mounter) or connect to the SATA & power cables of the second optical drive bay (requires a mounter for the safe attachment). Then boot from the Windows 7 partition to select the SSD on the BootCamp control panel. Please be carefull not to damage the SSD by the static electricity if you attach it to the optical drie bay without a mounter.

    I recommend you to have a Lion bootable hard disk partition or to make a bootable DVD/flash drive in case of the SSD failure. To make a bootable Lion install disc, see:
    <http://www.macworld.com/article/1161069/make_a_bootable_lion_installer.html> or
    <http://www.macworld.com/article/1165337/create_a_bootable_lion_install_drive_for_newer_macs.html>

    Please pardon me for my poor English.
     
  14. Kyahx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    #14
    You can use the utility QuickBoot to do a one-time boot into Windows (or any other drive) without changing your default boot drive.
     

Share This Page