Apricorn Velocity x2/EVO 840 1TB below average R/W speed

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Qagan, Oct 2, 2014.

  1. Qagan, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2014

    Qagan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #1
    Hello community,

    I recently got my 4.1 a treat and placed a velocity x2 with a single evo 840 1TB in it. I already did some optimizations given from other threads in this forum to improve the performance of the ssd, such as trim enabling and noatime.

    I'm getting the following Read Write results (image attached).
    The average should be around 450 or higher i think.

    First question, do you think those stats are normal?
    If not, what could be done further to improve those speeds?

    I'm really sorry if I missed a thread similar to mine.

    System Info:

    4.1 MacPro (early 09)
    2,93GHz Quad
    8GB 1066 MHz DDR3
    OS X 10.8.5
    GTX 680 2GB
     

    Attached Files:

  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    IMO, you should able to get better speed. I am with the Tempo SSD, so don't know if there is anything can do with the velocity x2. Anyway, for your info, my 840 Evo 1T able to perform quite close to what you expect.

    DiskSpeedTest SSD.jpg
     
  3. mikeboss, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2014
  4. Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #4
    Have to agree. I'm using a Velocity x2 anyway and I get similar results with the 840 Evo 1TB. When running the Black Magic DST for a while the read/write speed will drop a bit but it shouldn't be that much.

    Evo 1TB @ BMDST.png
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    My results with the Solo x2 and and EVO 500GB.

    To the OP - Why are you only running 8GBs of RAM? And any reason you're still on OS 10.8.5?

    Lou
     

    Attached Files:

  6. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    I doubt that the firmware issue is contributing to this performance. Typically that causes stale data to be retrieved at sub-spinner performance levels.
     
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    Hints: TRIM needs a reboot to activate itself and another (or couple) reboot to trim reserved blocks.
    Read/write speed numbers vary between file size chosen in settings.
    You may want to try another AJA Disk Test as well.

    What comes into my head:
    – see what connection speed shows Velo x2 under ASP (it should be x2)
    – check S.M.A.R.T. status of the drive with appropriate tool, not the Disk Utility
    – you may try to run fsck in Single User mode
     
  8. Qagan, Oct 5, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2014

    Qagan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #8
    Hey, sorry for the late response, was out for a few days.

    As for the OS, i recently updated from 10.6.8 to that because of the gtx680. I am kind of afraid to switch over mavericks, since a few of my friends had some issues with it, kinda afraid that my current system and hardware will bitch after updating. I need that system running for now. As for the RAM, it has been enough for me so far, but am planning to upgrade that soon too.

    I recently noticed that my System randomly froze after maybe a felt 2 hours of working. Never happened with the hdd before. Might have something to do with that 10.8 wasnt clean installed on the hdd, before copying it to the ssd. I Might have to do that in order to troubleshoot the freezing part. But still I'd like to think that all this mentioned above shouldn't be a factor for the below average read/write stats. This is kind of frustrating after blowing relatively this much cash for this.

    ----------

    Thanks for the input, I will look up into that by tommorow.

    cheers
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    What kind of issues? I've been running Mavericks since day 1 with really no issues to speak of. Right now I'm running Yosemite GM, and the issues from earlier PBs have been corrected. unless you have old programs that require earlier OSs, IMHO, there is no reason not to run the latest OS. And again, why only 8GBs of RAM?

    Lou
     
  10. Qagan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #10
    Thats it, plus little driver issues my audio interface has, which bugs the workflow and hasn't been fixed properly yet. I'll stick with 10.8.5 for now, till all projects are finished. I don't know how to respond to the RAM question, Lou:confused: I guess it was enough for me up until for now. Is it the RAM which is bottlenecking the read/write performance?
     
  11. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #11
    No, I didn´t have any issues, while I was running my 5,1 with 4*2GB sticks.
     

Share This Page