Apricorn Velocity X2 Freezes

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MDangerous, Jan 1, 2015.

  1. MDangerous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    So, I just bought an Apricorn Velocity X2 over the holidays. However, I'm getting some freezes. This it not the freezes on wake up that some people have experienced. I mostly get the freezes randomly like when I perform a speed test or when cloning the drive. The system does not completely freeze to the point of hard reboot. It basically freezes, pinwheels, then unfreezes itself after about 30-60 seconds. The SSD is a Seagate 600. This drive has never frozen while on the SATA bus.

    My Configuration is as follows:

    Mac Pro 3,1
    Velocity X2 in PCIe slot 2
    Drive is Seagate 600 240GB

    I have moved the Velocity around to different slots but I get the same problem.

    Any thoughts?
    Thanks
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    Repair Disc Permissions and check the drive for errors first.
     
  3. MDangerous thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #3
    Yep, tried those two things when I first encountered the problem. No luck.
     
  4. crjackson2134, Jan 3, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2015

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Next (and this is just me), I would do an SMC/PRAM reset.

    Remember, if you are on Yosemite and using Trim Enabler, you need to turn off Trim, and reboot before doing a PRAM reset.

    If none of those things help, and the problem only goes away when the SSD is installed in a native MP tray, then either the SOLO X2 is defective (probably not), or the drive has compatibility issues with the SOLO X2 (most likely).
     
  5. MDangerous thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #5
    OK, I've reset the SMC/PRAM. I'll test for a few days and see if the issue has been resolved.

    Thanks
     
  6. MDangerous thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #6
    Update: Nope, SMC/PRAM reset didn't solve the problem.
     
  7. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Check with Apricorn techies if your specific SSD has known compatibility issues/errors?
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    At this point it sounds like you'll have no success with this combo. Can you return the card or SSD for a refund? Even if the issue lies more with the SSD than the SOLO, the card won't do you any good unless you have another (compatible) SSD.

    It could be a defective SOLO but I've personally had many compatibility conflicts between Seagate devices and drive controllers that I suspect this is the problem.
     
  9. MDangerous thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #9
    I just got off the phone with Apricorn (I had to wait until they returned from the holiday.) and the tech said that he has never has another customer with a Seagate 600 SSD. He then suggested to return the X2 to be sure that it isn't the card or return the x2 and get an x1. I can only return the Apricorn because I've had the SSD for over a year now.
     
  10. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    That's as I suspected (you've had the SSD a while). If you can get another Apricorn card to test then great. Try that and let us know the result.
     
  11. MDangerous thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #11
    Yeah, I'll see what I can make happen. But to be honest, if a replacement doesn't fix it, I'll just deal with the random pinwheels because they aren't that frequent. Plus, it is a 3,1 from 2008 so who knows how much longer I will be using it anyway.
     
  12. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
    I believe the X1, & the X2 DUO are different chipsets than the Solo X2. You might want to look into one of those instead.
     
  13. MDangerous thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #13
    Yep, the Apricorn tech mentioned that.
     
  14. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    Very excited when your new Velocity will arrive and what your new output will be!
     
  15. MDangerous thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #15
    OK, I got a Velocity Solo X1 to replace the X2 and it seems to work. I haven't been able to get it to freeze, so far. So, I guess it was the chipset in the X2 that caused the problem.
     
  16. m4v3r1ck, Jan 14, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2015

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    Apricorn Velocity X2 Freezes


    Congrats and thanks for your feedback!

    Cheers

    EDIT: are your r/w speeds satisfactory with the X1?
     
  17. MDangerous thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #17
    Yeah, the read/write speeds are "OK". With the X2 they were 480-500 MB/s read and 440-460 MB/s write. With the X1 it's 380 - 400 MB/s read and 380-400 MB/s write. I don't notice the difference.
     

Share This Page