apt-get not working in MobileTerminal

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by raziiq, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. raziiq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #1
    hey there
    i m on OS 3.0 on my iPhone 3g.
    I have mobile terminal installed on my iPhone.
    But whenever i run these commands i get error.

    apt-get update

    i get this error: apt-get command not found
    Any suggestions?
     
  2. raziiq thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
  3. raziiq thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
  4. clearchaos macrumors regular

    clearchaos

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #4
    what are you trying to update?
    apt-get is not a recognizable command for the iphone terminal. basically it has a few minor built in commands, and then if you install erica utilities you get more. here's EU's commands.
     
  5. raziiq thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #5
    thanks for the reply. Infact when i was on Firmware 2.2, apt-get install cydia, this command worked for me, but now i m on firmware 3.0 and that command is not working for me anymore, so thats why i was asking. I mean i dont know, why this core command is missing from MobileTerminal. I am a uBuntu user and use to play with terminal alot.
     
  6. raziiq thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #6
    waoo i have got it !!!.
    thank GOD at last, i have got it.

    Well someone else looking for this here is the solution if u are having an unknow command error while using apt.

    Firmware 3.0 doesnt have this installed by default when u jailbreak it, so u need to install Aptitude from Cydia, and then if u use apt-get command in Terminal, BOOM, it ll work !!! :D
     
  7. bemental macrumors newbie

    bemental

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #7
    -----

    For anyone that's curious, aptitude wasn't in Cydia when I checked (IP4 @ 4.2.1). I'm currently utilizing the tethered JB and installed "AptBackup" instead (which installed all of the required Apt packages, etc).

    Then from the command line I tried using apt-get upgrade and it worked like a charm.
     
  8. orien2v2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    #8
    Thank God you posted this because I've been searching for hours! No wonder I can't find Aptitude anywhere! Thanks a bunch!
     
  9. Q-Branch macrumors newbie

    Q-Branch

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #9

    Thanks for posting this!
     

Share This Page