**Architecture: iMac vs. Macbook Pro**

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DizzySA, Jun 24, 2013.

1. DizzySA macrumors newbie

HEEELLLLLLPPPP??????

I am currently doing my Masters in Architecture and running off the 2011 Macbook Pro 2.2ghz 15inch model. I am wanting to slightly upgrade my specs since we use SketchUp, AutoCAD, Rendering Programs like Podium and the Adobe Suite and I don't want to run into any problems during school crunch time. My MBP has served me well so far, but tends to start slowing down a bit when my SketchUp models get a bit more intricate, or I run SU concurrently with Photoshop (or similar).

The upgrade option I am looking at is the higher spec iMac 21.5inch. Can ANYONE give advice on the comparison of speed and capabilities of these two models?

I am also confused as to why my 2 year old MBP has an i7 but the brand new iMac's only have i5's? People I speak to are concerned that iMac's are essentially home computers for sorting out photos and sending emails, when clearly I need something a lot more powerful!

I am fairly clueless when it comes to computer lingo so please could anyone help me out in this predicament? I would rather not change to the iMac if it is not going to make a significant difference!!

I am rather desperate! Thank you everyone :)

2. simsaladimbamba

While Macs are now more aimed at consumers, they are still very capable machines.

Intel has notebook and desktop CPUs, where the notebook CPUs have mostly two cores and two threads per core (i5 and i7) but there is also a quad core i7 series (four cores, two threads per core - eight virtual cores) for higher powered notebook computers.
    The i5 and i7 in the iMac are desktop CPUs, the i5 has four cores and only one thread per core, while the i7 has four cores and two threads per core.

The iMac will be more powerful than the MBP you have, but you are maybe limited by your RAM in your MBP. How much RAM do you have in it?

3. DizzySA thread starter macrumors newbie