Architecture Student looking into newMBP's...could use some opinions.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Raider33, Jun 14, 2009.

1. Raider33 macrumors newbie

Hey all,

I'm a 4th year architecture student who's pc has recently gone crappy, and am looking for a new laptop. I use the laptop pretty much everyday for programs such as autocad, form-z, revit, rhino, 3dsmax, as well as most of the adobe suite.

I know that most of these programs would need to use the bootcamp or whatever it's called, but would one of the new macbook pros run these programs well? How hard is it to use the bootcamp or parallels or whatever? Will rendering images be bad on the 13 or 15 inch mbp? I was kind of looking at the 13"(my old was fifteen, and I really don't think I would notice the lost space) with the 4 gig ram, and 250 gig hard drive...is the graphics card a good card?

I will also use the laptop for normal every day use.

Basically....should I just stick to a new pc? :-/

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

DO NOT STICK WITH PC!!!

Buy base MacBook and upgrade RAM and HD by yourself. Also consider an external monitor when you're using it at home/campus.

3. Maccleduff macrumors regular

Most of the programs you mention are windows only, and you'd maybe benefit from a quad core PC to speed up the render times. Its gonna be a hassle to go into bootcamp everytime you want to use the windows programs. Vmware fusion/parallels is good, but for rendering its not as fast as running windows natively.
    Currently rhino has no OSX version (although its in development). Form Z does, Revit and Autocad doesnt, 3ds max doesnt, Adobe suite does. Thats a lot of apps which are windows only.

Unless you need the portability, a pc would give you the best bang for buck.
    Go for the Macbook Pro if you want portability and mac osx.