Architecture Student New Computer Help

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ozmo711, May 24, 2009.

1. ozmo711 macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am an architecture student going into my third year and am required to purchase a new computer for next year. As a longtime Mac user, I am definitely going to get a Mac.

Basically, I am not sure which computer would suit me best and need some help deciding. This computer needs to be one that can be used for the next 3 years (and handle subsequent updates to the programs I will be using), and hopefully a few more after that (although I will probably purchase a new work computer at that point).

Here are the programs I will be using:

(On Parallels or VMWare):

Autodesk Revit *Take this mainly into account*
    Autodesk 3ds Max (not too much)
    AutoCAD

Natively:

Sketchup
    Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign (CS3)
    Possibly some kind of Video Editing program (maybe Final Cut Express)

Hardware needs:

RAM: 6gb min
    HD: 1 TB

What kind of setup would you guys suggest? I was looking into 3 (well 4) different options:

iMac 24 inch
    mac pro 2.66 quad core
    Mac Pro 2.93 quad core
    Mac Pro 2.26 octo core

I would more or less like the cheapest option that will run these programs well. Time is extremely important as an architecture student so I need a system that will be able to do 3d renders well as well as sometimes run multiple programs simultaneously (as I will be doing some multitasking). **Let me say, however, that I will not be using 3ds Max a whole lot, so take into account Autodesk Revit more than 3ds Max** I will be upgrading to Snow Leopard when it comes out, so please take that into account as well.

Thanks for the help!

2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030