Archive and install?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Morod, Apr 10, 2009.

1. Morod macrumors 68000

Morod

Hi all,
    My 24" 2.4 GHz Al iMac has a random freezing problem. I am thinking of doing an archive and install of the OS (running 10.5.6). Questions:
    1. Will an A&I keep all my present data?
    2. How is it done?
    I've never done it before and want to make sure I do it correctly. I did a forum search of archive and install, and nothing pertinent came up for me.
    I do have both installation disks that came with the iMac, so I should be good to go there.
    Thanks for any help/advice given!
    Morod

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Yes. That's the point.

The same way a normal install is done: insert the disk and reboot, holding the C key from when the startup chime sounds until the Apple logo appears. When prompted, choose to archive & install. If you enable the "preserve users and network settings" option, it will also re-import all of your data after the fact.

3. Morod thread starter macrumors 68000

Morod

Thank you, Blue!
    I will try this after I get off work today.
    The freeze problem is intermittent, so the local Apple repair place has had the computer and of course it never freezes while in the shop. This is one thing I can try to check myself.
    Thanks again!
    Morod

4. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly

Without knowing a lot more about the problems you are experiencing I can't recommend any type of reinstall. The most common source of these problems are hardware issues, a situation which attempting to reinstall can actually make worse.

5. Morod thread starter macrumors 68000

Morod

The problem...

I too think it could be hardware-related, but the tech said an A&I might help, hence my request for help.

PROBLEM:
The computer freezes up.

SYMPTOMS: