Are 128 MB enough?!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Neo91, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. Neo91 macrumors newbie

    Neo91

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a little question. Are 128 MB enough for Windows Vista on the MBP and are there any tests for the new graphics card. And are there any comparisons with other graphics cards? Like Benchmarks?

    Thx
     
  2. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #2

    128MB is plenty for video ram.
     
  3. Neo91 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Neo91

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #3
    big thx!
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    It depends on what you're planning on doing. All the 3dMark synthetics that I've seen have been done a 256 MB cards though.

    Don't expect high texture gaming on it. I ran into that problem with my X1600 128 MB. I could push the resolution just fine. I just couldn't cranky any texture settings up.
     
  5. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
  6. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #6
    There will be no problem displaying aero with 128 MB.
     
  7. chex macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    #7
    also, the speed of the card and RAM itself are relatively moe important than the amount of RAM.

    but yea, if turn textures all the way up on some games/extremely high detail video work then it will stutter.
     
  8. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #8
    aero requires 256MB
     
  9. Neo91 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Neo91

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #9
    I just want to play on Vista some little games like Coutner Stike or Battlefield 2, may be World of Warcraft or F.E.A.R., but I only want to play it without any problem. I won't play it with high texture or max. details.

    Thx!
     
  10. vagarach macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #12
    No, Aero DOES NOT require 256MB of vram.

    The minimum is 128MB, and this the MBP has had for a very long time. 128MB is enough right upto 1280x1024, which is more pixels than 1440x900.

    Get things straight next time.
     
  11. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #13
  12. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #14
    Oh yeh thats true.
     
  13. Neo91 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Neo91

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #15
    Okay thank you very much guys for these fast replys.

    Big thx
    bye
     
  14. senc01a macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #16
    I'm focusing in the same question since I play WoW a lot and next year ill only have a macbook pro with me.

    Personally i think that video ram is not that important as the actual chipset is.
    For example, a nvidia 8600 128MB of Ram will be MUCH MUCH faster than a nvidia 8200 512MB with the higest resolution and texture detail.

    The new macpro includes a 8600 GT (gt is a better model than regular 8600)mobile. Its probably a bit underclocked to prevent high temperatures but it is definitly a GREAT chip.
    128MB of Vram should be good enough to play almost all of games out on the market at something between 1280x1024 +- 1028x768.

    I currently play wow on a nVidia 7600GT 256 ddr3 and it rocks. Wow will probably run 10-20 fps faster on windows XP than on OSX (because the games engine is more optimized for directx thank for opengl) .

    Hopefully full graphics @ 30 to 60 FPS and @ 20 to 30 fps on 25 man raid boss battles.

    I wouldnt choose Vista since games run MUCH slower (Wow goes about 70% fps) although in the future it may be interesting cause the directx10.
     
  15. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    Then I must have a very special first gen MacBook to get Aero on mine.

    I would skip Vista and use XP instead. It is much more stable and uses a lot less system resources. I have Vista running on my gaming machine and I have had a ton of little things pop up that are just plain annoying.
     
  16. XyliX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #18
    I'll borrow the thread a little. I want to hook a MacBook Pro into my 24" monitor using the resolution 1920x1200. Is 256 MiB RAM recommended for this resolution or will a new MacBook Pro run fine with 128 MiB RAM?
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #19
    You'll want the 256 MB for those screen resolutions.

    Video RAM limits texture quality and screen resolution. I got great frames overclocking the X1600.
     
  18. hanzoh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    #20
    Well, depends on what he want's to do at this resolution...
    My MacBook can handle the Dell 2407 in clamshell mode pretty well (except the water effect in Dashboard).
     
  19. Trepex macrumors 6502a

    Trepex

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #21
    I'm not sure that is correct that you need 256mb. I was running a g4 powerbook to my Dell 2405FPW without problems...
     
  20. C3ment macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #22
    they're ok.

    i have a 128mb X1600 card, which is fine for Photoshop and ok for editing with Final Cut Express, but its not that great for gaming. u probably will only be able to get ur grphics on medium.

    I have a question:
    Can graphics cards be changed on a 17 inch iMac intel core, and can they support directX 10 graphics cards?
     
  21. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #23
    Graphics cards have nothing to do with image editing. Photoshop is purely processor.
     
  22. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #24
    No and, therefore, no.
     
  23. Habusho macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #25
    It all depends on what you're using your computer for. If you're a hardcore gamer, I would say it's not enough and not future proof if you want to play upcoming games as well. If you're surfing the net, doing some light graphic design work etc. it's plenty.
     

Share This Page