Are all new iMacs upgradeable with Ram and SSD AFTER the fact?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by SD-B, Nov 13, 2014.

  1. SD-B macrumors 6502

    SD-B

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #1
    So many questions but i have learned so much over the past week from all of you guys, so thank you again ahead of time....

    On these 2 iMacs, I just want to double check now to see IF I can upgrade their ram later on if I feel the need, as well as a SSD drive? Or rather, a Fusion drive?

    I really have to keep my costs down and am finding it very hard to compromise and pick one i need ( on top of upgrading my old mBP)


    So of these 2 particular iMacs, can someone please confirm if i can upgrade those two components afterwards if I choose to save some money now?

    http://store.apple.com/ca/buy-mac/imac

    21.5-inch: 2.7GHz
    Specifications
    2.7GHz quad-core Intel Core i5
    Turbo Boost up to 3.2GHz
    8GB (two 4GB) memory
    1TB hard drive1
    Intel Iris Pro Graphics $1,399.00

    27-inch: 3.2GHz
    Specifications
    3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5
    Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
    8GB (two 4GB) memory
    1TB hard drive1
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M with 1GB video memory $1,999.00
     
  2. SD-B thread starter macrumors 6502

    SD-B

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #2
    1 last question

    Refurb 2011 AirPort Extreme Base Station

    I recently purchased one for $89 and it works perfectly on my set up at home after years of having problems with wifi until i purchased it.

    Will this still work with the new iMacs?
    On my main mac, which i am on right now, I am at 10.9.5

    once upgraded to the latest and buy a new iMac with the latest OS, will this 2011 airport base station still be compatible?
     
  3. imaccooper macrumors regular

    imaccooper

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    Ram is upgradable on the 27 in but not on the 21.5 in. As for doing the SSD, it is a pain in the tail to do because you must take the screen off and be very careful not to get it dirty, scratched, etc. because it will show clearly; however, the upgrade is possible if you are fairly tech savvy and have the appropriate tools (or can improvise them). I would definitely suggest spending the extra bit of money on the SSD or fusion just to save yourself the hassle, but if you get the 27 in then RAM is something you can and should wait on. Unfortunately, on the 21.5 you will need/want to make both upgrades at time of purchase. Enjoy your brand new iMac!
     
  4. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #4
    Check to see that Airport you're talking about has "wireless ac" capability.

    If it doesn't, then you won't be able to use the fastest wifi speed available in new Macs.

    Your new Mac can drop down to wireless n, and your setup will work fine -- just not at the highest possible speed your Mac can use.
     
  5. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    Okay

    But unless you're regularly transferring large files over your home network, you won't notice much of a difference.

    It's nice, but not a requirement, to have the latest wireless tech.
     
  6. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #6
    SSD

    doesnt matter what model 27" or 21", you need to take the machine apart to swap the HDD out for an SSD. The current machines are constructed without any sort of consideration towards third parties taking them apart = awkward.

    RAM
    21" base model (1.4GHz) Has fixed amount of soldered RAM - choose how much you need at time of purchase Neither you, Apple nor anyone else is adding RAM to it after its came off the production line

    other 21" models - have RAM slots but as with SSD you need to dismantle the machine to reach them (again very awkward)

    the 27" has user accessible RAM slots
     
  7. SD-B thread starter macrumors 6502

    SD-B

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #7
    Thank you VERY much. Ive now got that all straight on which ones do which....and now its a toss between the 27" topped up or the r27".

    1 - 2 more questions ( different thread) and I will finally know all I need to know in order to be sure of what i am buying.

    As well with the networking information and as i am not transferring large files, its not a problem although I will take a peek and what the specs are on it..



    Thanks again
     

Share This Page