Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nickXedge

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 13, 2008
Long Island
I'm still very new to photography, but I've been reading a lot of reviews of lenses lately. It seems to make sense when thinking about future lens purchases to always take away ~2 stops from the lens' advertised aperture. Does this make sense, and is this just how it is with lenses? Are there any lenses that are sharp wide open? I should add that I read reviews of Canon lenses only, and at that I don't generally spend time on L glass as it's out of my price range, but I have read a few and they seem to generally follow suit. I am more interested in consumer glass rather than professional, though. Just curious, thanks everyone.

Stratification

macrumors regular
Jan 17, 2005
Spokane, WA
Don't be too afraid of shooting wide open. Sure, it will reveal some of the shortcomings of a lens, but avoiding it altogether is as silly as shooting at ISO 100 in every condition because you'll get a little noise if you go higher. I shoot wide open on my 50mm 1.8 and our macro 100mm 2.8 regularly because there's no substitute for the shallow depth of field in the images I'm working with and I don't mind the trade-off. Just familiarize yourself with the lens. Sure you'll lose a small amount of sharpness wide open, but I think you may have read too many lens reviews lately.

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
Speaking from a Nikon perspective (although I wager it's reasonably accurate for you as well)... good consumer glass is usually weakest wide open. When you buy pro glass, you're not necessarily getting significantly better performance at f/8 - what you're paying for is wider apertures, and the ability to shoot at those wider apertures without too much degradation in the quality of your images.