Are mac's better for drawing and making music?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ncollins1986, Jul 26, 2010.

1. Ncollins1986 macrumors newbie

Before i get started I want you all to know I use Windows PCs and have so for 12 years so i have no real knowledge of Macs (but have always been Mac Curious) so treat me like you would your grandma ^_^.

For a while now i've been hearing a lot of digital artists swear that macs are better for drawing but they never seem to say why and since I'm looking at buying a new computer soon I wanted to find out why that is before i make a mistake. I've seen people emulate the Mac OS on their PCs or something and everyone always tells me macs are harder to upgrade so I just want to know, why would i choose a mac? Is it all preference or is there something in there I can't see but will get once i grab a hold of the stylish Mac. Just a little side note I also play games and goto lans and all my mates use Windows PCs so would there be any issues there? Would i be able to upgrade the mac as time goes on the same way as a Windows PC?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

I'm not sure why drawers switch to Mac as there is Creative Suite for PC as well but there is no Final Cut or Logic for Windows, both are excellent in their category.

What Mac are you looking at? What kind of upgrades? RAM is the only thing you can easily upgrade, other parts are hardly accessible or cannot be upgraded in other but Mac Pro. You can install Windows as well in order to play games if they are not available for Mac. There will be no issues when gaming with your mates.

I think Mac isn't necessary for you, it sounds like a PC might be better for you. You can always Hackintosh it if you want to try OS X, just make sure the computer you buy is compatible

3. Queso macrumors G4