Are my processors BAD??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Bigpurp, Dec 21, 2008.

1. Bigpurp macrumors member

Heyy every1 I am sort of confused about my processor. I love my mac pro and I dont wanna sell it, but I recently started playing CS and some other games like fallout 3 so I installed a 280 gtx for bootcamp.

I have quadcore processors
    Intel Xeon 5150 2.66ghz x4

I was told that server cpu's such as mine are bad for gaming and will bottleneck this card so I should 'pretty much build a new pc'. My fps seems like it could be better, and it drops especially in WoW (since that is more cpu intense).

During these games my physical memory (ram) goes to 80% but my cpu stays below 50% so this is where im confused. Why do I need a new processor?

What do you guys think? Drop like 500 on a new pc and use the mac just for protools / final cut or do u think my processors are good enough for games too??

2. product26 macrumors 6502a

product26

3. Bigpurp thread starter macrumors member

yea I only have 2gb but I dont wanna waste money on upgrading RAM if my chipset / motherboard isnt made for getting the maximum performance out of my video card.

4. product26 macrumors 6502a

product26

the memory will help with pro tools. I am running pro tools on the same system as you, only with 4 gigs.

what slot is your graphics card in? for best performance, put it in the lowest slot.

5. Bigpurp thread starter macrumors member

Ya its in slot 1. superclocked too. I shouldnt be experiencing fps issues though (ok maybe crysis is exceptable)

Although WoW and other games seems to recognize all 4 cores
    so wouldnt that be 2.66 ghz x 4 or does the 2nd processor only kick in when I do stuffs in the background?

6. Bigpurp thread starter macrumors member

should I just get more ram first? since its at 85% usage atm just running WoW...does it stop at 90 or somethin? How do I know if the physical memory is maxed out?

on vista 32bit

7. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604